Pad Kee Mao Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
excellent. Substituted tofu for the pork and made it vegetarian. Added extra serranos too and fresh basil from the garden. With a nice Cabernet. Yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I haven't tried to make this yet. I'm just writing to thank you for that great explanation of the name of the dish! I have often ordered in the great Thai restaurant nearby and have wondered why I can't taste any liquor in it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I used regular soy sauce and brown sugar as another reviewer suggested. I also added oyster sauce and extra soy sauce. I made veggie style with peppers and onions instead of pork. The basil is so delicious! A must for the dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The flavor is decent, but it is missing egg, which is in every Pad Kee Mao dish I've ever had. Our local restaurant also uses mushrooms and bamboo shoots in their dish, which might not be "authentic" but I love. Overall, this was pretty good, but I'm going to try it again with an egg for sure, mushrooms and bamboo shoots, possibly in place of the bean sprouts. I'm also going to try replacing some or all of the serrano pepper with chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Needs more thick soy sauce but other than that, this tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good recipe, though I prefer to leave out the sugar, use fish sauce instead of salt and THAI-basil leaves instead of the common basil leaves. The serrano pepper is only there to give the dish a rich and spicy taste, but should not be eaten, unless you like a very spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xonicc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This has become a "go-to" dish for nights that I just don't feel like cooking but don't want to go out either. Its so quick and easy and adaptable to whatever is on hand. We have experimented with many different shapes/sizes of rice noodle and really love using a vietnamese noodle that is fat and sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Awesome!! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, and found it rather bland. I was disappointed because Pad Kee Mao is one of my favorite Thai dishes, but this is nothing like what we get at our local restaurant. The basic ingredients are there, but the sauce is wrong. It doesn't taste like much... just a little salt flavor. Plus, I couldn't even taste the spice from one serrano pepper. I will try making this again, but will play around with marinating the meat and finding the right sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I thought it was just alright, but dbf thought it was great. Pork turned out pretty salty, next time I might leave out or halve the salt in step 3. For thick soy sauce I used 1 t. soy sauce and 1 t. brown sugar; I know it's not the same but I am hurting for cash right now! Just for the record, when I stumble home from the club, a recipe this complicated is NOT what I would come up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States