P.J.'s Fresh Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
My husband is not generally a fan of raw veggies, but he thought this was fantastic and ate almost the entire bowl by himself. I thought it was pretty good, but none of the kids would eat it. Thanks for helping me find a veggie recipe that got such high praise from my husband! I used the creamy Italian Dressing recipe from this site and that seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was delicious! I read many reviewers who said they blanched the corn, but there is definitely no need to do that at all! When you're eating it, you don't realize that the corn is raw, so it's just a waste of time and nutrients, imo. I didn't have all the ingredients so did a little substitution and still delish! I also added a little chopped jalapeno per someone's suggestion and that was good, too. Go easy on the salad dressing if you don't want a mushy salad, because the veggies exude juices as they sit and will add to the liquid. I didn't measure the salad dressing, but don't think I used more than 1/2 cup. Also, keep in mind that the KIND of Italian salad dressing that you use will have a huge impact on your salad. If it's not a good one, your salad won't be, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
A variation that makes this a stand-alone meal. First, microwave Silver Queen or other white corn IN THE HUSKS - 5 minutes for 2 ears, plus 30 seconds for each additional ear = 6 minutes for 4 ears. Allow to cool at least 5 minutes in open air, then "shuck," wash, and cut from cob. Substitute ripe avocado (or prepared quacamole) for green peppers, and add a generous amount of romaine torn into bite-size. Add 1/3 cup of grated extra sharp cheddar, 2 tablespoons of sour cream, and a tablespoon of your favorite chunky salsa PER PERSON TO BE SERVED...and omit the Italian dressing. For REALLY hungry folks, add 1/2 cup of taco or fajita seasoned and barbecue grilled thinly sliced steak, boneless chicken breast and/or thighs, or cold "sea legs" or chunks of crabmeat and/or lobster / shrimp. Toss and season to taste with sea salt, fresh ground black pepper, and lime juice. Serve with taco chips and more salsa on the side. Great with sangria, wine spritzers, or a beer. Make plenty, 'cause it "sells well"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Frelinghuysen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is a perfect summer salad. I followed the recipe ingredients but varied the amounts. My garden is full of cucumbers and tomatoes so I added an extra 2 or 3 to the recipe. I loved the crunchy corn and the salad dressing gave it great flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Fresh and delicious! Great way to use up all that garden goodness! Raw corn is delicious, but makes me sick, so I also blanched my corn and zucchini as well. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this for the first time and oh my goodness what a great recipe. I used up corn I had from dinner night before, left out the zucchini and added 2 tomatoes instead of one. This is a definite winner!!Loved it and so did my boyfriend. I will make this one over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Excellent way to make use of the farmshare veggies! I leave out the red onion, but people still devour this when I make it. I've brought it to a few parties this summer and it's always a hit. I use http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Italian-Dressing-Mix/Detail.aspx for the dressing, which makes it even fresher. It's also versatile for changes in proportion of veggies. I was bombarded with cukes a few weeks ago and put at least 4 in (and maybe 4 ears of corn), and added some blanched green beans and it was still fantastic. Next time I may add some black beans. This is a definite keeper. Easy, refreshing and completely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Awesome recipe! I added a little fresh basil from my garden as well. If summer had a flavor this would be IT! I think next time I will add some baby shrimp and make this a mean all to itself instead of a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this recently and loved it! I made a few changes since I wanted to use veggies that I had on hand. I cut the corn amount by half since I made it for one person (myself) and I used one avacado, 1/4 c.vidalia onion,1/2 a tomato, and 1/2 zucchini with same amont of dressing as the recipe called for and it was so full of flavor! I too had never ate raw corn, I didn't have high expectaions for this recipe I just wanted to use up my veggies. Glad I tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbeysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is fabulous! I used Italian Dressing Mix by Debby from this site (set overnight to marry the flavors 1st). Great way to use garden fresh veggies especially the best local sweet corn that I can't get enough of! This is not something I would typically make which is EXACTLY why I decided to try it and I am SO glad I did! I cut the recipe in half and this made the perfect amount for my family. This is a keeper, thanks for expanding my horizons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States