P.J.'s Fresh Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was a HUGE hit with my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I found this recipe a couple years ago and it is SO easy and SO yummy! If I am feeling lazy I use a couple cans of sweet crisp corn and its just as good and a hit with whoever eats it....and I always have to give out the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
nedd for a party and no really cared for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
The quickest, tastiest salad we have ever had! The crunch and freshness of the veggies is so satisying. For year round enjoyment, we have found a 1-pound bag of thawed frozen corn does just as good as the fresh. Yellow or white but we prefer yellow for the bold color. I would suggest using half of a medium red onion and adding more according to taste. Our family doesn't care for raw zucchini so I leave it out and it doesn't impact the salad at all. Thanks Browndog for a people pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
My husband is not generally a fan of raw veggies, but he thought this was fantastic and ate almost the entire bowl by himself. I thought it was pretty good, but none of the kids would eat it. Thanks for helping me find a veggie recipe that got such high praise from my husband! I used the creamy Italian Dressing recipe from this site and that seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was delicious! I read many reviewers who said they blanched the corn, but there is definitely no need to do that at all! When you're eating it, you don't realize that the corn is raw, so it's just a waste of time and nutrients, imo. I didn't have all the ingredients so did a little substitution and still delish! I also added a little chopped jalapeno per someone's suggestion and that was good, too. Go easy on the salad dressing if you don't want a mushy salad, because the veggies exude juices as they sit and will add to the liquid. I didn't measure the salad dressing, but don't think I used more than 1/2 cup. Also, keep in mind that the KIND of Italian salad dressing that you use will have a huge impact on your salad. If it's not a good one, your salad won't be, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
A variation that makes this a stand-alone meal. First, microwave Silver Queen or other white corn IN THE HUSKS - 5 minutes for 2 ears, plus 30 seconds for each additional ear = 6 minutes for 4 ears. Allow to cool at least 5 minutes in open air, then "shuck," wash, and cut from cob. Substitute ripe avocado (or prepared quacamole) for green peppers, and add a generous amount of romaine torn into bite-size. Add 1/3 cup of grated extra sharp cheddar, 2 tablespoons of sour cream, and a tablespoon of your favorite chunky salsa PER PERSON TO BE SERVED...and omit the Italian dressing. For REALLY hungry folks, add 1/2 cup of taco or fajita seasoned and barbecue grilled thinly sliced steak, boneless chicken breast and/or thighs, or cold "sea legs" or chunks of crabmeat and/or lobster / shrimp. Toss and season to taste with sea salt, fresh ground black pepper, and lime juice. Serve with taco chips and more salsa on the side. Great with sangria, wine spritzers, or a beer. Make plenty, 'cause it "sells well"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Frelinghuysen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is a perfect summer salad. I followed the recipe ingredients but varied the amounts. My garden is full of cucumbers and tomatoes so I added an extra 2 or 3 to the recipe. I loved the crunchy corn and the salad dressing gave it great flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Fresh and delicious! Great way to use up all that garden goodness! Raw corn is delicious, but makes me sick, so I also blanched my corn and zucchini as well. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States