PHILLY Neapolitan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a very good cheesecake. The ones that ate couldn't stop talking about how good it was. It was a very easy recipe to follow. I would suggest trying it out for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Really great cheesecake. The layers are really eye-appealing and they taste good, too. I didn't have Graham crackers, so I just used a similar cookie for the crust. I also didn't have frozen strawberries; I had frozen raspberries on hand. It still came out really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgsilvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
A beautiful, delicious cheesecake that is pretty simple to make. It's a little time consuming, but definitely worth the effort! The only thing I did differently was I left off the white chocolate shavings and garnished instead with chocolate dipped strawberries. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca LaMore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This tasted delicious, although the three layers didn't seem as "defined" as I thought they would be. I think that next time, I may double the recipe so that each layer is thicker. Also...be sure not to make the mistake that I did...I actually ended up throwing away my first attempt of this cake! When it came to the strawberries, I thought, "I love strawberries....I'll add more." I added a whole container (1 pound). Strawberries are mostly water....and this made the mixture pretty runny. As a result the top layer didn't cook correctly, and after an extra hour in the oven, was burned. The next time, I followed the recipe and used one cup only of strawberries...and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Had for Easter dinner on Sun.; all agreed best cheesecake ever. 12-yr.-old grandson said not to tell his mother that, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
for those of you that had a problem with the layer definition, I have made this cheesecake several times and I have found that if you freeze each of the first 2 layers for 10 to 15 minutes instead of just 5 minutes, it will look very much like the picture. this one is always a huge hit, even the first 2 I attempted that looked like a blown up tub of neapolitan ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shimbo Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this for the In-Laws, and it was a major hit! However, I had two issues: 1) After 55 minutes, the middle was still completely raw, and ooxed out when we cut it, and 2) The top of the cake turned a brown color, making it look like a 4-layered cake! (But once I decorated it with chocolate shavings, it looked much better.) If you're up for it, it's definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shimbo Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just made this for Christmas Day dinner. It was a big success and fairly easy to put together. The only thing I noticed was that my layers were not as prominently chocolate or strawberry in color or as high as in the picture. The next time I make it, I'm going to put more chocolate pieces in and add 2 squares of semi-sweet and 2 squares of milk chocolate, plus I'm going to make each batch with 2 bricks of cream cheese separately instead of making one bigger batch and trying to divide evenly. I also think I over drained the thawed strawberry mixture, which is why it came out more of a creamy pink color, but all-in-all it was good. My daughter, who is not a big cheesecake eater, really liked this one. That was a ringing endorsement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thestef121
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Well, first attempt. Not fabulous, but I did ok. Didn't use enough chocolate, and I think I overlooked it. But hey, I'm new to this cooking thing, and it was actually pretty tasty. Recipe was easy to follow. So I'd say, for beginners like me, not bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This cheesecake recipe will not layer out as shown. I made it as per the recipe with no changes. You would have to make 2 times as much batter to get 3 large defined layers as shown. I had no problems with it setting after being baked for 50 minutes. I also made sure the strawberries were well drained as it could add too much moisture. I also agree with letting it sit in the freezer for at least 10 minutes before adding the top 2 layers of batter. At best, you can make a two layer cheese cake with the vanilla and chocolate layer and make a strawberry topping instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States