PHILLY Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I basically used this recipe as a stepping stone in what I actually created. I used a package of Philidelphia cream cheese. 1/4 cup of Miracle Whip. 1/4 cup of sour cream. Instead of the swiss cheese I ised 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese and grated up a few of the mini sized babybel cheese :) than I sliced up parsley instead of the green onion. a tablespoon of lemon juice. A dash of each onion and garlic powder. a dash of old bay seasoning.I Also opted for fresh crab. So i got 3 medium size (fresh caught and still live) dungeoness crab. I shucked and saved the juices used it all in the dip. Blend all together with a hand mixer. put in glass baking dish. place small layer of panko bread crumbs on the top before baking or half way through. I served mine on mini toasted baguettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I used fresh dungeness crab 150 grams (would try even 200 next time) added a couple of dashes of worcestershire sauce and some salt & pepper. Would add 1-2 more chopped green onions too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I read all the reviews on this recipe and some ideas. I used lump crabmeat instead of canned & sautéed chopped baby portabella mushrooms and fresh baby spinach chopped horse radish & miracle whip with pepper jack cheese... WOW this dip was delicious and did not last long..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great snack! I have made this many times. I also add a can of drained shrimp and a few dashes of red pepper flakes and us sour cream instead of Miracle Whip. I bake the mixture in a shallow baking dish without stiring untill the top brownes and bubbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made this dip yesterday and it was a big hit. Followed instructions, but added about 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese to give it a little kick. Also baked for about 30 minutes to brown it slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I have made this dip for about 10 different events/cultures and picky people. I have not met one person that does not LOVE this dip!!!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I found this recipe to be quite good, but I did changea few things based on other people's reviews. I used lump, imitation crab. I also used mayo instead of Miracle Whip. Because some people said it needed a little something extra, I used pepper jack cheese instead of Swiss. It really gave it a subtle little kick and made it delicious. I would defiinately make it again, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It was a crowd pleaser! I added a botle of artichoke hearts, and extra green onion, some fresh garlic and some hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Great dip! It's even good w/ cheddar instead of parm. cheese. I used 4 onions and sprinkled the top of the dip w/ Old Bay Seasoning as well. Serve w/ Frito Lay Scoops! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
good but have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States