PHILLY Creamy Rice, Chicken and Spinach Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was yummy!!! My husband and I really liked it. It wasn't your typical chicken and rice dish. It was really good with all the veggies! It definitely needs salt and pepper. I made some changes based on the ingredients I had on hand: I cooked the rice in a rice cooker separately with water instead of broth. I cooked the chicken in the skillet with regular italian dressing and olive oil and added about 3 cloves of minced garlic. I salted and peppered the chicken as well. I cooked that until done and added the cream cheese and spinach as directed. I also roasted a red pepper in the broiler meanwhile. Then cooled and peeled it. I chopped it with the tomatoes and added them at the end until heated. Then I mixed in the rice and topped with parmesan. It was almost like a alfredo sauce with veggies added in. I love hot parmesan spinach dip so this was a great recipe for my husband and I. We will definitely enjoy this meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALLEYSINGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I decided to try this because it sounded good to me. My husband wasn't too thrilled to try it because of all the spinach and tomatoes but absolutely loved it once he tried it. I used less spinach because it wouldn't all fit into my skillet. I also used a different dressing than called for: KRAFT tuscan italian. The commissary here didn't carry the other kind. It still came out fabulous. My husband scarfed it down and complimented it over and over. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. I used frozen spinach, canned tomatoes and noodles instead of rice. I also olive oil instead of the salad dressing. I sauted about 1/4 cup of chopped onions and a clove of garlic...next time I'll use more and maybe some mushrooms. I cooked the noodles separately for about half the usual time and then added it to the chicken and broth to simmer for 5 min or so. I also added some nutmeg -- again I'll use more next time. But it was quite good and I WILL make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is one of my favorite quick 1 pan dinners. everything is easy to pickup at the store and there is little to no prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
EXCELLENT dish - even without the parmesan cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I loved this! I used pasta instead of rice and pre cooked everything, mixing it all together in the end. i used the light peppercorn ranch dressing I had on hand. I added roasted red peppers, italian seasoning, cayenne pepper,onions, seasoned the chicken with lemon pepper, boiled the pasta in the chicken broth, used canned tomatoes with chiles (i like it spicy). It turned out great! Can't wait to take it to work tomorrow for my tasters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was very good! I made it twice, and both times there were hardly any leftovers, and the little bit we had as leftovers was eaten the very next day. I did no alterations, and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was great! Everyone loved it and had seconds. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I love this recipe, I make it at least once a month. Instead of instant rice, I cook regular rice with chicken broth in my rice cooker, and used canned Italian tomatoes and leave the liquid in (to replace the lost liquid form not adding chicken broth to the chicken part). At the end I add the rice and mix it all together. Everyone who tries it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Love this! Used a whole brick of cream cheese, added chopped onion and fresh garlic, and some spices for taste. Will definitely use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States