PHILLY Creamy Rice, Chicken and Spinach Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I love this recipe, I make it at least once a month. Instead of instant rice, I cook regular rice with chicken broth in my rice cooker, and used canned Italian tomatoes and leave the liquid in (to replace the lost liquid form not adding chicken broth to the chicken part). At the end I add the rice and mix it all together. Everyone who tries it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My husband and I thought this was pretty good, as we like creamy, chicken, and rice dishes. I did think it was a little "thick". We made two changes. We cooked the rice seperately in chicken flavored water and stirred it in to the main pot after the chicken was cooked. (We did not have instant rice.) We also used fat free cream cheese, and I'm sure this is where part of the taste/thickness issue comes from. Everything else was the same. I'm considering using an alfredo or cream based soup along with the cream cheese next time. I also want to use more spinach or other veggies. Pretty good though, just needs a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was great! Everyone loved it and had seconds. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was very good! I made it twice, and both times there were hardly any leftovers, and the little bit we had as leftovers was eaten the very next day. I did no alterations, and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was yummy!!! My husband and I really liked it. It wasn't your typical chicken and rice dish. It was really good with all the veggies! It definitely needs salt and pepper. I made some changes based on the ingredients I had on hand: I cooked the rice in a rice cooker separately with water instead of broth. I cooked the chicken in the skillet with regular italian dressing and olive oil and added about 3 cloves of minced garlic. I salted and peppered the chicken as well. I cooked that until done and added the cream cheese and spinach as directed. I also roasted a red pepper in the broiler meanwhile. Then cooled and peeled it. I chopped it with the tomatoes and added them at the end until heated. Then I mixed in the rice and topped with parmesan. It was almost like a alfredo sauce with veggies added in. I love hot parmesan spinach dip so this was a great recipe for my husband and I. We will definitely enjoy this meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALLEYSINGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I loved this! I used pasta instead of rice and pre cooked everything, mixing it all together in the end. i used the light peppercorn ranch dressing I had on hand. I added roasted red peppers, italian seasoning, cayenne pepper,onions, seasoned the chicken with lemon pepper, boiled the pasta in the chicken broth, used canned tomatoes with chiles (i like it spicy). It turned out great! Can't wait to take it to work tomorrow for my tasters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is really good! While I was preparing it I learned I needed to replace BOTH a/c and heating unit to the tune of $6k. I wasn't focused, yet it came out excellent. More like a risotto. First I used regular Uncle Ben's and cooked beforehand for about 12 minutes instead of the 20. I added minced garlic when adding chicken to the salad dressing, used frozen spinach (thawed and squeezed dry), canned tomatoes, AND, because I wasn't paying attention, I used an ENTIRE block of fat free cream cheese. It was absolutely delicious. Oh, I also used Kraft Italian dressing because that's what I had on hand ... family really, really loved it. Will do again, the way I did it :-) ! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
EXCELLENT dish - even without the parmesan cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is one of my favorite quick 1 pan dinners. everything is easy to pickup at the store and there is little to no prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. I used frozen spinach, canned tomatoes and noodles instead of rice. I also olive oil instead of the salad dressing. I sauted about 1/4 cup of chopped onions and a clove of garlic...next time I'll use more and maybe some mushrooms. I cooked the noodles separately for about half the usual time and then added it to the chicken and broth to simmer for 5 min or so. I also added some nutmeg -- again I'll use more next time. But it was quite good and I WILL make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States