PHILLY Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
A little time consuming, and the caramel crust really stuck hard to the pan... However, this cake is worth the trouble. Believe me, it's so rich, and dark, and smooth, and SO PERFECT!!!!! my advice: don't waste time asking yourself if this recipe is worth it. you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this and it tasted to me like a no bake cookie. I only used half the chocolate it called for because i was trying to make it marbled...but that didn't work it all blended together. I also added an extra brick of cream cheese and an egg. Added a 1/2 c. whole milk. I took it to work and it was gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
AMAZING! Did some tweeks by instead mixing the plain batter, then mixing half the chocolate amount into half the plain batter, and then mixing 16 melted caramel squares into the other half of the plain batter, then we just marbled the two in the pan. OMG so delish! Made it more of a true 'Turtle' cheesecake with the addition of the caramel cheesecake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linkerts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
5 stars for taste, 1 star for ease and presentation! I followed the recipe exactly, and although the cake was delicious, it was a terrible sticky fussy mess. The caramel never hardened, and it kept oozing out of the cake all night in my fridge. When I tried to serve it, all the pecans and caramel were stuck to the pan, so I wound up scraping them off and serving cheesecake with a side of jumbled mess. Everyone still said it was delicious, but it sure wasn't pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
followed recipe exact. Caramel a little hard to cut through, next time will use a drizzle method. very rich, extended family members asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made mine with a vanilla wafer base, by crushing 1 1/2 cups of vanilla wafers and mixing it with 1/4 cup of melted butter. I pressed that into a 9x3 springform pan. Once I poured my caramel mixture over the base I sprinkled the top caramel layer with 1/2 cup chopped pecans. I prepared everything else as directed and baked with a casserole dish on the bottom rack, filled with water, to prevent the top of my cheesecake from cracking. Once baked and cooled and the rim had been removed, I drizzled on some store bought caramel sauce and hot fudge sauce, in a decorative fashion, the sprinkled on another 1/2 cup of crushed pecans. It was a HUGE HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by great_girl11
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Amazing! Make sure you don't let the caramel go to close to the edges otherwise it will stick. But overall, so tasty and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this at Christmas and everybody loved it. It's so rich and creamy you only need a very small slice. Definately a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
It was a good cheesecake overall, but the crust was so sticky and extremely hard to cut through. Will not ever use carmels again in the crust. Filling was very rich and sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The pecan and caramel crust was very good, but the chocolate cheesecake was dry and like eating chocolate paste. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States