PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I Made this recipe for a party and it went fast. I did not have the required pan so I used my regular pie pan and it turned out great. I layered the apples like the picture and sprinkled almonds and it looked very beautiful. Some skins I left on for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I needed a last-minute dessert recipe for a family get together. I had apples and cream cheese on hand, so I gave this a try. Wow, what a hit this was. 8 adults and a toddler took care of the whole thing. Preparation was a snap, and it was really great, with a buttery crisp crust and a smooth tasty filling. I overcooked mine a bit, so keep your eyes on it and remove it from heat when it just becomes set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
OMG! This is an amazing dessert! My husband and I absolutely loved it. I made only one change. I have made this twice so far and the first time I used 2 packages of cream cheese because I like a little more of the cheese fillling. It was fantastic! The second time I made it, I used 1 package of cream cheese and 1 cup of whole milk ricotta cheese. Even better and creamier! One of the best desserts we've ever eaten. I will make this over and over again. TIP: If you decide to try it with the ricotta cheese added, don't use low fat or fat-free ricotta. It won't taste nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was very good- take it out at the time it says though- don't keep it in longer otherwise the crust will come out a little to hard-I have made this twice now and it is great and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Wow! I'm not a cook, so wanted something easy- and this was great. To make it more nutritious, I mixed ground flax seed meal into the crust. I also zapped 1/2 cup pecans in mini food processor and mixed them into the crust - made it delicious and crunchy. I had a few tablespoons of ricotta cheese that I mixed in with the phillie cheese - so I had to cook it a little longer - but I absolutely loved the flavor of the two cheeses. I used apples, a plum and a pear on top (leftover fruit) - didn't have any almonds to add - can't wait to make it again! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
OMG! This recipe is fabulous! I didn't change a thing except to leave off the almonds as my husband isn't a huge fan of them. It took a little longer to cook and the smell was divine. When it came out of the oven I couldn't resist topping it off with a warm caramel sauce - just a little. I must say the smell from the oven was definitely an indication of how it was going to taste. This was gone in no time at all. Very easy to make, but looks like something that came from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Holy cow, is this good!!!!! I had some apples and a block of cream cheese that I wanted to use up so I put those in to the ingredient search and this recipe caught my eye. My 7-year old loves cream cheese-based desserts and he loves apples so I knew this would be right up his alley. I did have a bit of difficulty spreading the crust into and up the sides of my springform pan. It kept sticking to my fingers. But I could have been a little off with the flour, you never know. Anyway, I persisted and this came out absolutely PERFECT!! It looks like you could have bought it in a bakery and tastes like it, too. As we all neared the end of our slices, the sound was almost comical. All you could hear was each of our forks scraping the plates as we all tried to get every last bite :) The crust is delicious, the cheesecake filling is yummy and the cinnamon-sugar apples on top make a beautiful finish to one absolutely awesome dessert. The only thing I changed was I omitted the almonds as we are not big nut-eaters. I truly cannot believe so few people have tried this recipe. My husband already told me to make sure I put this in "the binder"...only true keepers go in there! Give this a try, you won't regret it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very good! Delicious crust. My family really liked this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Townsend Northam
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
AWESOME dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Townsend Northam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this is good! probably wouldn't make it often but the presentation is beautiful and it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States