PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I just made this dessert for the first time. It is so delicious!!!! I did not have any almonds, however, but I definitely would like to add some for the next time I make this, or perhaps some pistachios, on top of it and grounded up into the crust. For the filling I added vanilla and rum extract, and it came out so good! Next time I think I'll add a little bit more rum to it. I also couldn't wait for it to set 3 hours in the fridge. I waited for it to cool to room temp. All in all, this is a definite must try!!!! Quick, simple, and delicious!!!! You just can't top that!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe, served it to our guests and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wonderful! I added about 1/4 c finely chopped almonds and a dash of almond flavoring to the crust. I think I'll use this crust for other pie recipes. The crust is what makes the torte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Wonderful recipe, except for the amount of cream cheese being 8.8 ozs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Family loved this torte. Only thing I will change next time is to have more of the cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Wonderful and easy recipe. I made it for a work gather and one coworker said "I want to roll around in this forever". I did make a few minor changes. I used only three apples. Mine were a mixture of types and because some of them were a bit sweeter, I only used about 2 Tbsp of sugar with them instead of a third cup. I also left out the almonds because I don't like almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
It was pretty good but I did use a pinch more cinnamon with that it was the bomb! ?it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the instructions just as written, with one tiny addition! I chopped up about 1/4 cup of almonds very fine and added that to the crust. I sliced my apples very thin, as some other reviewers had suggested, but I did need to cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for to see that the middle was set. Could be a difference in oven temp, but something to watch for. This was sooooo delish and looked beautiful! Everyone loved it. I'll absolutely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was so good and really easy too! I used a 9 inch tart pan. Added a 1/2 teaspoon almond extract to the filling. That alone brought it to a higher level. It is very important to thinly slice the apples to make sure then get cooked. Also, I saw by the pictures that some, if not most, arrange the apples on the top. I was not so careful. Just kind of dumped them on the top and smoothed them out , then sprinkled with almonds. Very pleased with the results. Bakery quality, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States