PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Wow! I'm not a cook, so wanted something easy- and this was great. To make it more nutritious, I mixed ground flax seed meal into the crust. I also zapped 1/2 cup pecans in mini food processor and mixed them into the crust - made it delicious and crunchy. I had a few tablespoons of ricotta cheese that I mixed in with the phillie cheese - so I had to cook it a little longer - but I absolutely loved the flavor of the two cheeses. I used apples, a plum and a pear on top (leftover fruit) - didn't have any almonds to add - can't wait to make it again! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
So good! Everyone from my grandmother to my toddler loved it. I did cut the sugar by a third which really helped it from becoming too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Perfect dessert to impress your guests. Even Mom. In celebration of MY Mom's birthday, I cooked dinner for her today and finished it off with this beautiful dessert. I nixed the almonds and drizzled caramel sauce over each piece. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Photo by Seraphine38
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Exellent flavor, just the right about of sweetness. I had pears on hand to use on top-- they turned out good but were still a bit too crunchy after 35 minutes of cooking. Next time I'll slice my fruit thinner I think. Overall VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seraphine38

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
SO delicious! This recipe was very dimple to make with a fantastic outcome. My husband was doubting the look of the crumbly crust mix when I pressed it into the pan, but the shortbread crust was perfect! One of my guests asked to take home two pieces. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I needed a last-minute dessert recipe for a family get together. I had apples and cream cheese on hand, so I gave this a try. Wow, what a hit this was. 8 adults and a toddler took care of the whole thing. Preparation was a snap, and it was really great, with a buttery crisp crust and a smooth tasty filling. I overcooked mine a bit, so keep your eyes on it and remove it from heat when it just becomes set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I Made this recipe for a party and it went fast. I did not have the required pan so I used my regular pie pan and it turned out great. I layered the apples like the picture and sprinkled almonds and it looked very beautiful. Some skins I left on for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is really good. Very easy and simple to make. My son made the filling while I peeled and sliced an apple I only needed one apple because I made this into mini tortes instead of one large one. I had some mini graham cracker crusts I needed to use so I used those. I didn't have sliced almonds so I just put one whole one on each torte. When I served them I drizzled a little bit of caramel sauce over them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Incredible! Easy to make and the taste is divine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Burgess Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tellico Plains, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was very good- take it out at the time it says though- don't keep it in longer otherwise the crust will come out a little to hard-I have made this twice now and it is great and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States