PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I loved this! I added ricotta to make it even creamier and didn't use almonds. I used a pie plate and next time I will spray it better because the crust stuck a bit. Also, I made it a bit too thick at the crease edge so I'll thin it out that way I don't get a chunk of crust in the crease of the pan! I used two apples and still had leftover so I'll also know to place them tighter together. I'm making this for our Christmas Day dinner so with the knowledge of my first experience, I know this will come out perfect! The taste is fabulous... Like another reviewer said: shortbread meets cheesecake meets apple pie!! Fabulous :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I made this for a brunch I prepared for some girlfriends. Very easy to prepare and delicious! I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and that worked fine. I also added about 1/4 tsp almond extract to the crust and it was subtle but very tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving. It turned out wonderful. My sister-in-law was floored when I told her I made it. She thougth I had bought it from a bakery! This will definitely be used for future gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
What an easy delicious desert!!! I was tired of Apple Pie and Apple Crisp and wanted something new. This was easy and everyone loved it. I did change the Vanilla for Almond extract and added a handful of almonds to my crust. What a great addition!!! Now people request this all the time. A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have made this a few times now and everyone has always loved it. Looks great and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delightful dessert enjoyed by my family. I did substitute almond extract for the vanilla and would try some ground almonds in the crust as well next time. Lovely dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callicocat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yep- this really is as good as they say. I used mostly splenda for the sugar and light cream cheese. Golden delicious apples sliced thin- 4 average sized appled allowed for about 3 layers or nicely placed apples. This is a light dessert- kind of thin- If preparing for more than 6 adults, I'd double it. Tried a piece as is and one with caramel drizzled over the top. I didn;t think the caramel was necessary. It's just a simple, easy dessert. Even hubs loved it and he's usually a choc/pb kind of guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Wonderful and easy! I sometimes skip the spring form pan and make it in a pie pan and it turns our just fine. My husband can't wait for the for 4 hour cool down time, so we've ate it as soon as an hour later and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This dessert is so amazing. I made it as is but without the almonds. I love everything about it and I look forward to making it again soon! My husband is not one for apple desserts but he absolutely loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States