PHILLY Baked Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I have made these countless times. I have found that if you double the filling and spray the wontons with cooking spray BEFORE you fill and bake them, they are SOOOO GOOD! I also bake them at 375 degrees for a little less time. I have used yogurt in place of the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These were very easy and delicious. My only complaint was that the bottoms got very greasy, but that's probably because I used regular cream cheese & mayo, both very fatty ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I only gave this 3 stars for the following reasons: I did not care for the miracle whip (I should have heeded the warnings - bad me!- and used sour cream or mayonnaise instead) and added sugar. Also, I just folded mine into little rangoons-not in cupcake pans, added sugar (I like mine a little sweet), and I put them on broil for a few minutes. These definitely have the potential to be good. I did not have a problem with the texture of the wontons as some. With the changes of the mayo instead of miracle whip and added sugar. I would make these again, however, of course, they're no fried goodenss of the chinese buffet, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very easy, used mayo, worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I served this at a party and the platter was quickly emptied. I made as directed except I followed another reviewer's advice and baked the empty wontons wrapper in the mini muffin pans for about 8 minutes. Bake again after you fill them. I only used a spoonful for each shell and there was enough filling for 24 shells. Don't forget to make a sweet N sour dip to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These were a huge hit at our New Year's Eve party. And they were sooo easy to make. I was able to make several more than the recipe indicated, which was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The filling on this is just like Mom's crab dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These are pretty good, but I would leave out the miracle whip & add a splash of soy sauce. Top with a dollop of sweet & sour sauce & you won't even miss the fried version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were pretty good and easy. I do think they would be better fried, but they were still very tasty. They were a bit soggy on the bottom but that is to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were pretty good for what they are - baked crab rangoons! They'll never match up to the deep fried ones, but still made a nice casual appetizer. I made a few as stated, but also wanted to experiment making the normal triangle shaped ones, as well as "purse" shaped where the corners of the wonton wrapper are pinched together around the filling. The filling leaked out of both of those a bit, but they still tasted good. Next time I'll just follow recipe as stated, as those turned out the best. And no problem for me as far as wontons getting too hard - they were crispy, but not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States