PHILLY Baked Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Very Good & Easy. You can make the filling ahead of time. I have made this recipe several times and it is always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I have made these countless times. I have found that if you double the filling and spray the wontons with cooking spray BEFORE you fill and bake them, they are SOOOO GOOD! I also bake them at 375 degrees for a little less time. I have used yogurt in place of the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I found this recipe a while back and people always ask me to bring it. I've never had trouble with my wontons being too hard when I baked them like another memeber had posted. I have also made these ahead of time and reheated them in the oven and they taste just as good as if they were fresh. One thing I do do differently is I use 1 can of crab meat when I double this and I also use Mayo not miracle whip.. Very Very good recipe for get togethers oh and I make sweet and sour sauce 1 to go with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I have made this many times and always get request for the recipe. I make mine into pockets by folding over into envelopes. These reheat well. I have never had them get hard. You can drop them into frying oil to reheat but this adds to calorie count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Yarbrough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I served this at a party and the platter was quickly emptied. I made as directed except I followed another reviewer's advice and baked the empty wontons wrapper in the mini muffin pans for about 8 minutes. Bake again after you fill them. I only used a spoonful for each shell and there was enough filling for 24 shells. Don't forget to make a sweet N sour dip to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Easy to make and pretty to look at, but that's the best this has going for it. Being easy to make is not enough to call something great. What did this really need? The fat, flavor and crispiness of deep frying! Edible but not a suitable "rangoon" surrogate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These were good, but I will use less Miricle Whip next time. That flavor was a little too much for me. This also has much more crab than a typical Chinese restaurant crab rangoon. So if you want more of that style, I would half the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These were very easy and delicious. My only complaint was that the bottoms got very greasy, but that's probably because I used regular cream cheese & mayo, both very fatty ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
While the flavor of this was great, the texture wasn't. Maybe since I made these ahead of time so I wouldn't be preparing while my guests where there is why. The wontons got soggy, not crispy. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I don't think wonton wrappers were meant to be baked. Mine turned out all hard and inedible. The filling was pretty tasty but I think next time I will fry these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallucinex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States