PHILLY Baked Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Read existing reviews noting complaints and suggestions. I used mini-muffin tins, sprayed a non-stick spray on each and was able to close the wonton to create wonton most like the "fried" ones without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Easy to make and pretty to look at, but that's the best this has going for it. Being easy to make is not enough to call something great. What did this really need? The fat, flavor and crispiness of deep frying! Edible but not a suitable "rangoon" surrogate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kayla Kinney
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
There were great and so easy.. I even used fat free cream cheese and everyone raved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Fabulous! Hubby and teenage son love these! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It's crab rangoon-ish, but definitely not the real deal. I so wanted it to be too, because it is so easy. I did half the crab meat as others suggesting, but I don't think making it to recipe would have helped. The Miracle Whip messes up the flavor I think. The shells are what's really off. I tried the muffin pans, triangle folds, the little flower folds like most restaurants do. Nothing made it taste right. I'm thinking there's no way around frying them unless you're willing to compromise on the taste and you expectations of what crab rangoon should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I thought these were great. I love the fact that they turned out crispy but I didnt have to fry them. Very easy to make as well. I added some Old Bay seasoning to mine and used regular mayo instead of Miracle Whip, since I dont like it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I found these to be very bland, but that's just me! Second batch was done with precooked wonton wrappers, about 6-7 mins. Added to the cream cheese mixture was lemon juice, Old Bay, hot sauce, dill, black pepper and more seafood seasoning. Baked for 8 minutes more and they were the biggest hit of the party! I had tons of filling leftover, so I toasted some baguettes, topped with the crab mix and some cheese. Awesome!! Good base recipe for tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Made these for a catering job, they were a HUGE success! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I tried it because it is baked instead of fried. Big mistake. THE Won-ton wraps were as hard and tasteless as cardboard. I even cut down the baking time by three minutes. The filling was very good, using mayo instead of miracle whip. I made a second batch, using the tiny frozen salad shrimp, and fine choped chives. GREAT filling, and less expensive, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States