PHILADELPHIA Summer Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I love that this uses the cooking creme instead of mayo. But I followed the comments of others and now that I have made it a few times I like it with onions, bell peppers, garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, fresh ground black pepper. Also I used grape tomatoes instead of cherry as they are smaller. I even through in some red pepper flakes because I and many of my friends like a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was a really good salad. Change alert: I did not have the Cooking creme so I took a hunk of Philly cream chese and added it to the hot drained potatoes and dressing. Later, I also added herbs from the garden but otherwise the cream chese/dressing combo was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Overall the flavor was good but as other reviews the cooking cream is somewhat over powering. I added a bit at a time to adjust to our taste. A new twist on potato salad.. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I thought this was fantastic! I am not a fan of regular potato salad because I don't like mayo so this was a great alternative to the traditional recipe. I did make a few minor changes. I didn't use the reduced fat cooking creme because they did not have it at the store I shop at. Instead of shredded parm I used Kraft grated parm & regiano cheese (it was on sale!). Didn't use as much water, only 1/8 of a cup. I also seasoned with salt and pepper. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I was really disappointed in the flavor of this. The cooking creme was the prominent flavor. The salad needed something to make it better, but I'm not sure what it would be. My husband and a couple of friends liked the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is an interesting combination. I used 3T red-wine vinegar instead of dressing, half of the container of Savory Garlic flavor, because my grocery store didn't have low fat or cheese&herb version (I don't care for cheesy flavors anyway), and halved the recipe because I didn't want to waste the vegies if I didn't like it. I think by adding 1c of broccoli florets it would tame the thickness and richness of the cooking creme. I agree with the other review that it needs more of something to cut the overwhelming taste of the cooking creme. According to my boyfriend, keep making "my" original potato salad, don't mess with a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was an interesting potato salad using cooking creme. But I didn't think the flavor was there. The cooking creme was a little too prominent in this. I felt it needed to be spruced up quite a bit with extra veggies like onion and bell peppers, as well as some extra seasonings like some fresh dill or fresh parsley. Even though adding in some extra veggies and seasonings made it better, it still wasn't a favorite. Overall it was a decent potato salad and I enjoyed trying it. I always like new ideas using cooking creme! UPDATE: Since I had leftovers of this, I didn't want to throw it all out. So I decided to spruce it up to make it taste better. I added in more extra veggies like onion, bell pepper and celery. More seasonings like onion and garlic powder, italian seasoning, and fresh parsley. I also crumbled in some bacon, shredded cheddar cheese, and about 1/2 cup of ranch dressing. Thats a lot of ingredients, but they are normally what we put in our potato salads and it did help the leftovers to be very good so that we didn't waste them. So if you don't like the original recipe, there's still hope of sprucing it up to make it a better tasting potato salad so that you won't have to waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States