PHILADELPHIA® Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
As a mom of a child with an egg allergy, I love finding recipes that were designed to be egg-free to start with, and super happy when they taste great too! Note: As others have mentioned, this dough gets sticky quickly. Work with small batches and keep the rest in the fridge. Also use plenty of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These are sooo incredibly easy to make and delicious and fun!! Highly reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family raves about these cookies! However, I do not use it as a cutout cookie recipe. I roll the chilled dough into 1 inch balls, roll the balls in colored sugar, flatten slightly with a glass, and bake for 10 minutes. Rolling completely in the sugar gave them just the right sweetness. I made 5 batches this holiday season, and gave out the recipe several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Honestly I didn't like the baked cookies, or working with these ones... however they are great to make and let kids eat the raw dough since they have no eggs or anything. Plus they taste great that way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
WOW these are great cookies everyone loves them i made a few changes my self i add 4 more ounces of cream cheese and with the left over 4 ounces of cream cheese i mixed it with 2 cups of confectioners sugar juice from 1/2 of a orange and 1 tsp of vanilla i mixed that well and add just enough orange juice to make a drizzle and dipped each cookie in to the frosting they didnt even stay around long enough to firm up(next time i am going to try key limes and lemon) i also used a 1 tablespoon ice cream scoop to measure out the dough that way it didnt need to be in the fridge so long i also didnt use the wire racks my mom used brown paper bags cut open to put her cookies she says it dosent dry the cookie and she also taught me to cook my cookies on the flip side of the pan not the in side that way they dont burn but thats just a little of what i call mom widsom after 6 kids she should know something hope you try the recipe and enjoy the cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
The finished product is worth the angst of 'floppy' dough for this tasty cookie. There is no need to frost these, sans perhaps a drizzle of white chocolate. Keep the dough as cold as possible when cutting and placing on cookie sheets. These cookies will puff up just a little, and produce a dense, rich cake-like cookie. Everyone in the family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Definately the best I have made so far! Still would like to find one with a little more sugar to the cookie. Hard to mix with a hand mixer. I almost burnt out the motor on my small hand-held trying to mix these together! I would recommend a large stand mixer for these! Dough tasted great(if you love cream cheese) Rolled out easily with a little flour. Definately shill for a couple hours! This recipe is on KRAFTS website and doesnt call for baking soda. Iam not sure what would happen without it. Mine rolled out good, cut good and baked excellent for only 10 minutes. Will try again next year without Baking soda and a little more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Made this recipe as a Christmas gift for my daugter's teacher and bus driver's. It is fantastic!! I broke the dough down into three balls and chilled them for an hour. Used flour on the counter and rolling pin so it wouldn't be so sticky. I also placed red and green sugar on the dough before baking. It actually did take 13 minutes to cook. But it was well worth the wait. My hubby liked them too, and he isn't much of a cookie eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmamathatcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These were exactly what I was looking for in a cut-out sugar cookie. I was a little concerned at first because they were so sticky right after they were mixed. I divided the dough in half,flattened into two rectangles, and wrapped in wax paper. I mixed these up Saturday night to be made on Sunday afternoon. So they chilled in the refrigerator the whole time. They were still a little sticky the next day so I can't imagine only chilling for 30 minutes. I dusted my pastry board with powdered sugar and also dusted the dough. I do not use flour to roll out sugar cookies, it makes them tough. They rolled out wonderfully. We cut them a little thicker, maybe a 1/4 inch. Baked in a 350' oven for 10 minutes, turning cookie sheet half way through. We let them cool for a couple of hours and then turned the kids loose with several colors of frosting and sprinkles. They had a great time. The cookies were moist and just sweet enough. This will be our sugar cookie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These should just be called Sugar Cookies. Leave out the cutout part. Taste is great but cannot make cutouts out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States