PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So easy , super moist and tastes really good. Baked in a water bath and after cooking i let it cool in the oven for an hour with the door open before I put it in the fridge over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Okay I believe that cheesecake is supposed to be rich, creamy and tall. I thought this cheese cake was to short to eggy and not as tall. I don't think I will use this recipe again. When I was reading the reviews I was so excited because everyone said it was so good and their guest raved about it. I didn't get that my guests said it was good. I will have to post a recipe for you which is the best I had. I chose this one because it was easy and did not have so much prep time. All in all I guess its all right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
one of the best recipes yet. I do add a splash of lemon juice before beating in the eggs and this helps keep the smooth texture and keep it from being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
this tasted too eggy. Mine tasted almost like a custard. For those people that said their cheesecake cracked, wrap foil around the springform pan. Then put it in a roasting pan with warm water about halfway to the springform pan. Then when it's done cooking, leave it in the oven for a couple of hours with the door cracked open. One thing I'll say about this is that it did not crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
@Gilletten Usually cracks are caused from beating the eggs too much.. You can prevent the cracks by adding a small amount of cornstarch to the batter. You can also add a roasting pan full of water under the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Silk smooth! I like to use OREO COOKIES rather than the graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I couldn't wait to dig in and cut it only after one hour in the fridge. I couldn't resist. It's rich with a very light but dense texture. I baked the cake at 500 degrees for 10 minutes and then reduced the heat to 200 and baked for an hour and 40 minutes (when a thermometer inserted into filling read 150 degrees). That's the only difference. I've read that after pouring the mixture into the pan, dropping it from an inch or so above the countertop forces air bubbles to the top. Greasing the sides before pouring and covering the cake with a bowl during the countertop cooling phase will prevent cracking. I forgot to grease the sides and am fairly certain that's why I got a crack. :) Two thumbs up! Awesome recipe. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixpackjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This cheesecake was awesome. Next time I will add a little sugar to the graham cracker crust. The package on the graham crackers says to add 3 TBS of sugar - I didn't as I followed this recipe exactly, but the crust wasn't sweet enough. Also, I did bake in a water bath and the cheesecake came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious cheesecake everyone loved it as a Christmas dessert. The only issue I experienced was that I had to bake this for an additional 30-min. I baked at 300deg because my pan isn't silver (more of a brown/bronze color) so I figured it was similar to the darker pans. I was wrong, I will likely bake this at 325deg next time with my pan to cut down on the bake time. I did experience some cracking on the top while it baked, but after taking it out and letting it cool, the top fell and the cracks weren't noticeable. Actually, I got a lot of comments on how I got it not to crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This turned out great and was very easy. I'll use strawberries next though instead of the cherry pie filling for a more original cheesecake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States