PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
one of the best recipes yet. I do add a splash of lemon juice before beating in the eggs and this helps keep the smooth texture and keep it from being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
this tasted too eggy. Mine tasted almost like a custard. For those people that said their cheesecake cracked, wrap foil around the springform pan. Then put it in a roasting pan with warm water about halfway to the springform pan. Then when it's done cooking, leave it in the oven for a couple of hours with the door cracked open. One thing I'll say about this is that it did not crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
@Gilletten Usually cracks are caused from beating the eggs too much.. You can prevent the cracks by adding a small amount of cornstarch to the batter. You can also add a roasting pan full of water under the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Silk smooth! I like to use OREO COOKIES rather than the graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I couldn't wait to dig in and cut it only after one hour in the fridge. I couldn't resist. It's rich with a very light but dense texture. I baked the cake at 500 degrees for 10 minutes and then reduced the heat to 200 and baked for an hour and 40 minutes (when a thermometer inserted into filling read 150 degrees). That's the only difference. I've read that after pouring the mixture into the pan, dropping it from an inch or so above the countertop forces air bubbles to the top. Greasing the sides before pouring and covering the cake with a bowl during the countertop cooling phase will prevent cracking. I forgot to grease the sides and am fairly certain that's why I got a crack. :) Two thumbs up! Awesome recipe. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixpackjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This cheesecake was awesome. Next time I will add a little sugar to the graham cracker crust. The package on the graham crackers says to add 3 TBS of sugar - I didn't as I followed this recipe exactly, but the crust wasn't sweet enough. Also, I did bake in a water bath and the cheesecake came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious cheesecake everyone loved it as a Christmas dessert. The only issue I experienced was that I had to bake this for an additional 30-min. I baked at 300deg because my pan isn't silver (more of a brown/bronze color) so I figured it was similar to the darker pans. I was wrong, I will likely bake this at 325deg next time with my pan to cut down on the bake time. I did experience some cracking on the top while it baked, but after taking it out and letting it cool, the top fell and the cracks weren't noticeable. Actually, I got a lot of comments on how I got it not to crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This turned out great and was very easy. I'll use strawberries next though instead of the cherry pie filling for a more original cheesecake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
i found just a little too strong on the sour cream was easily fixed by adding one more pack of cream cheese i personally like mine with the cracks so i cook it till then but for those of you having trouble just cook it lower heat or less time always gets compliments i use chocolate crumbs and sometimes cheat and buy oreo crumb pie crust it makes three of those perfect for parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Turned out perfect. What I didn't know was that the cheesecake could stay in the pan overnight. I tried to unlatch the pan and the cake started to crack and wobble, so I quickly put it back together and it was fine in the morning. I did use a water bath. There wouldn't have been any cracks if I would have left the cake in the pan longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States