PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I never made a cheesecake before today because I always had the impression that it would be really hard to do, but l was wrong. It was easy! (The only reason I made it this time was because the store didn't have any plain cheesecakes, so I had no choice!) This recipe made a little more than would fit in the 9" springform pan, so I baked the extra in a small pie plate, which got taste tested by us all. Very good cake! The cake with strawberries on top is delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I pulled out an old Philly recipe I have from a magazine clipping. It calls for 5 - 8 oz packages (226 grams). In Canada the size Philly they sell is 250 grams. THIS recipe is based for the Canada measure of Philly. Also, a lot of people are complaining about their results. If you do not bring the cheese and eggs to room temperature your cake will curdle. If you do not use a water-bath your cake will crack. This is an amazing recipe, don't blame the recipe when it should be blamed on "cook-error" and give it a low rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Made sure all ingredients were at room temp and used the water bath. Creamy and never cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this cheesecake was very good not too sweet,was a big hit when i made for a birthday.everyone wanted the recipe,also they culdnt belive i made it .thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love this cheesecake. I have been making them for a fund raiser for a friend. Everyone raves about it. I to had problems at first with it cracking but I started putting it in a water bath and cut the cooking time down by 4 mins. They now turn out beautiful! Another trick to keep this cake from cracking is to make sure you grease the sides of your spring form pan.. Mine never come out cracked but when it cools and sinks down some in the pan is when it pull apart in the pan this and carefully run a thin knife or spatula around the sides when you take it out of the oven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Got crack? This recipe is GREAT! If your cake cracks badly then here's a secret to making cheese cake... Place your spring pan on a cookie sheet with water in it. Make a little aluminum foil 'bowl' for your cake pan to sit in so no water touches the pan. This will solve your crack issues. Will come out silky smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Made this because I had some cherries and sour cream to use up. Made it as bars and had some BIG time cracks, but turned out to be pretty tasty for my first ever cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I always had problems with my cheesecake cracking, that is until I watched alton brown explain cheesecake is more like a custard, so when baking cover outside of spring form pan with aluminum foil to keep water out, set in a large roasting pan pan and fill with HOT water level with the batter...or as high as you can...turn off oven and leave cracked, let the cake cool before removing, end result is the most amazing textured cake without cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe turned out great for my husbands birthday. I've never made cheesecake before so I was nervous. I had to use a 9 inch pie plate because I don't have a springfoam thing. Turned out alright although I had a TON of the cheesecake mixture leftover (my fault though, not yours!). It did crack in the middle all over the place but apparently that's normal. I wish I could make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is my families favorite Cheesecake ever. I do sometimes alternate between the Cherry Pie Filling for the top with Strawberry Pie Filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States