PHILADELPHIA Key Lime Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
First attempt at making a cheesecake & I was VERY pleased with the results! Easy to make & got rave reviews from friends & family (even those who dont normally like lime flavour!). I used Granita biscuits for the base & as an extra also added 1/4cup almond meal & 1/4cup dessicated coconut. And I took others advice & used 4 limes instead of 2 and was happy with the tangy-but not overwhelming-taste this had! will definetly be going in my cookbook to make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter, thinking that maybe the lack of lime taste had to do with people using regular limes instead of key limes...but I have to agree, the lime taste is very subtle and could be upped by a lime or maybe two if you want a stronger key lime taste. I am getting ready for a grad party and made these up as mini cheesecakes, so if anyone is interested, it makes about 55 mini cheesecakes, and they need to be baked for 20 minutes. They also freeze nicely, just thaw in the refrigerator. I will be making about 300 of these as mini cheesecakes and will up the lime juice and rind by one, and I will also add a few drops of green food coloring to make it look like a lime cheesecake. A pretty decent recipe as written, but with a little more lime juice, I think it will be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Quite delicious!!! Though there wasn't quite enough lime flavor (I like it really strong) so I just zested some extra limes and that did the trick. I also combined the juice from those extra zested limes and equal parts of sugar and heated it on the stove to make a syrup which I drizzled on the cheesecake, as I have people in the house who don't like whipped cream or Cool Whip on cheesecake, and that was fan-freakin'-tastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
First time i ever made cheese cake and turned out perfect. i did do somethings different, instead of 750g of cream chesse i used 500g and 200g of ricota, also used 2limes and a lemon and the zest from both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
As far as cheesecake recipes go, this one was mediocre. I followed it to the letter and ended up with a cheesecake that was the consistency of melty ice cream. I am not at all impressed with Philadelphia recipes, and probably won't use them again. The flavor was good though, and it was a decent recipe to learn on my way to cheesecake perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynZe Arnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sofia's Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I think I would have liked this recipe more if I followed the recipe exactly and not taken the advice of the other reviews to add more lime. I put the juice of 4 limes in mine and thought it was painfully tart. I can't imagine what it would have been like with any more limes than that. Everyone who ate it liked it, but I still would have preferred it to be more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was delish! Added more lime juice and zest than called for (I zested and juiced about 8 key limes, though I'm patient with zesting or juicing, so it was probably like fully zesting and juicing four little key limes) and added in about two drops of green food coloring to make the color pop a bit. Had it on Thanksgiving after dinner and the whole family gobbled it up! A nice tip is to throw it in the freezer for 45 to an hour before cutting it. You get perfect slices and the cake is nice and firm, tasking almost like lime sherbet ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was fabulous! I used bottled key lime juice and regular lime zest. I also always put cheesecake in a water bath with the spring form pan wrapped tightly in several layers of foil. This was gone in seconds at a family gathering. People who love key lime loved it, and people who hate key lime loved it. Can't go wrong with this recipe. If you want more lime flavor you can add a bit more juice. It will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
It was good, but needed more lime taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
this recipe was so easy and delicious it had a great flavor it wasn't to sour really enjoyed the taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States