PHILADELPHIA Key Lime Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was fabulous! I used bottled key lime juice and regular lime zest. I also always put cheesecake in a water bath with the spring form pan wrapped tightly in several layers of foil. This was gone in seconds at a family gathering. People who love key lime loved it, and people who hate key lime loved it. Can't go wrong with this recipe. If you want more lime flavor you can add a bit more juice. It will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was delish! Added more lime juice and zest than called for (I zested and juiced about 8 key limes, though I'm patient with zesting or juicing, so it was probably like fully zesting and juicing four little key limes) and added in about two drops of green food coloring to make the color pop a bit. Had it on Thanksgiving after dinner and the whole family gobbled it up! A nice tip is to throw it in the freezer for 45 to an hour before cutting it. You get perfect slices and the cake is nice and firm, tasking almost like lime sherbet ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter, thinking that maybe the lack of lime taste had to do with people using regular limes instead of key limes...but I have to agree, the lime taste is very subtle and could be upped by a lime or maybe two if you want a stronger key lime taste. I am getting ready for a grad party and made these up as mini cheesecakes, so if anyone is interested, it makes about 55 mini cheesecakes, and they need to be baked for 20 minutes. They also freeze nicely, just thaw in the refrigerator. I will be making about 300 of these as mini cheesecakes and will up the lime juice and rind by one, and I will also add a few drops of green food coloring to make it look like a lime cheesecake. A pretty decent recipe as written, but with a little more lime juice, I think it will be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
FGHG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Quite delicious!!! Though there wasn't quite enough lime flavor (I like it really strong) so I just zested some extra limes and that did the trick. I also combined the juice from those extra zested limes and equal parts of sugar and heated it on the stove to make a syrup which I drizzled on the cheesecake, as I have people in the house who don't like whipped cream or Cool Whip on cheesecake, and that was fan-freakin'-tastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very delicious and very creamy. Easy to make, not a lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
this recipe was so easy and delicious it had a great flavor it wasn't to sour really enjoyed the taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I am not a huge CC fan but I have to say this was good! Nicely flavored and not too heavy. For the crust, I used cookies I had leftover from Baking Nana's cookie decorating party in early December. We were done eating them and I didn't have the heart to throw them away. I processed them up for crumbs and added melted butter, perfect fix! Some of the cookies were red velvet cake cookies, hence the red color crust. I used key lime juice from a bottle and used no zest. I always bake my CC's in a 9 inch cake pan, for water bath purposes. I never get cracks either. Sray bottom with Pam and fit a piece of parchment paper circle on the bottom, spray again and add your crust and filling. Run a knife around the finished cake and a little heat from the stove and it comes right out! Life is Too Short to mess with springform pans and foil! I made a vanilla whipped cream for it and it was delish! Thank you Philie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I used 1/2 cup key lime juice and three drops of green coloring; also used nilla wafers for the crust. Taste was great, but with these baking directions the edges were over cooked before the center set. Next time I will bake a few minutes at 350, turn the temp down for a while, and cool in the oven as I do my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States