PB & J Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
these were tasty.. i used butter instead of butter flavored crisco.. why use butter flavored crisco.. when you can use butter? confused me a bit. I didn't have any problem making them at all? so i don't get what the other reviewers were saying. i would advise to give these cookies ROOM.. i learned the hard way more space is better. my husband doesn't like chunky pb so i skipped the nuts. i did put the dough in the freezer for an hr before spreading the jelly. Worked out good. Thanks for the share
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie0129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Not enough "reward" for the amount of work involved. I'd rather make peanut butter cookies and put a "jam thumbprint" in the middle of each one! Same great P&J taste...a lot less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I found it easier to roll the dough between two pieces of waxed paper, and then place in the freezer for a few minutes to firm it up before spreading on the jam. I skipped the nuts on the outside. After rolling, I placed in the freezer again for a few hours, thus saving a lot of time. I got 45 cookies out of roll, and my kids really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I agree with the other reviewers, the dough is way too crumbly and hard to work with. The taste was great but it wasn't worth the effort I had to put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I had the same problem as Karynjo. The dough kept breaking apart and jam was everywhere! I finally froze the dough log so it would not be so soft. The jam looked more like spiderwebs after all the breaking. The peanuts were messy too. The taste was ok. I doubt I will make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
These taste great, but I had a VERY hard time working with the dough. It is extremely messy! I couldn't quite roll it up in an even circle; it was more oblong, so now I have very large oval cookies. Also, I had to bake them A LOT longer than 12 minutes - almost 25 minutes. Don't know if I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
These were incredibly fun and delicious--I substituted margarine for Crisco and used a triple berry jam. A great hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I love it when I find a recipe that reminds me of childhood or at least an early memory, this is that rcipe. My Mum made a cookie very much like this but there was one difference instead of jam the cookied was spread with melted chocolate. I have made three different batches one with jam one with my childhood memory of chcolate and then I just went compleatly crazy and spread with chocolate and jam. The last combination was a little messy but worth the effort. I will make these again and a again, all varities. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States