Oysters Rockefeller Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this dish with success. One suggestion, DONT'T boil the oysters. Fresh Oysters are delicate and delicious, boiling then baking is overkill. Just shuck the oysters and then spoon the recipe in and bake. I finished with a small pinch of shredded cheese. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Over all this the best and easiest recipe ever!For the novas have your local Fish Monger open them fresh for you,so you can enjoy your evening at home and not in the ER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By George McLean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neptune City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I like the touch of anise liquor -- it adds an extra little zing to the flavor. One note about the 4 cups of kosher salt. The salt is not to put *on* the oysters -- it's to put in the pan as a bed for the oysters. Place the oysters on top of the salt. The salt keeps the oysters upright in the pan. You can also use a high-quality rock salt for this purpose. It is the classic way to serve this dish. The recipe is clear about this but if you haven't had oysters served this way it might be confusing. Photos #3 and #4 show the presentation with the bed of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Knight

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
guest enjoyed it but it turned out a bit too fishy for me...may try again in the future but with alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
You have no idea how FANTASTIC this recipe is. I didn't follow the measurements to TEE. I omitted the bacon bits, parsely and the anise liquor. Adding garlic butter, onion, lemon, romano and parmasean cheese. I first boiled the oysters with 1 bottle of beer and the rest with water making sure to cover the oysters entirely. I added garlic gloves and pepper corns to the pot. I used melted garlic butter, chopped spinache, onion, parma AND romano cheese with a dash of lemon juice. I then set them in the oven, broiling them on high for about 1 minute. I make this at least once a month and EVERYONE absolutely craves them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElenaPearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
We made these with fresh oysters from Chincoteague Island. Loved them! They were a little time-consuming, but worth it! I used a bigger than normal dash of hot sauce, but that's because I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used this recipe for New Year Eve with couples for good luck in the aphrodisiac department for the upcoming year. It was fantastic! The toppings were sooo good just by themselves! I added a tiny bit of gorgonzola on top just before broiling which we loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gg810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake View, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
As a new, younger cook I was a bit nervous to make these but have made these the past two christmas eves. My family enjoys them so much that I've created a new christmas eve tradition and a good cooking reputation for myself! I do also add a bit of cheese to the top before broiling. The crispy bacon makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My boyfriend just returned from a fishing trip to B.C. He brought back oysters knowing how much I love seafood. But not too many as he wasn't sure if he was going to like them. Sweet as he is ...but safe. LOL!! We brought up a recipe on our favorite site...All Recipes and came up with this one. Oh was he sceptical. He let me do my thing and I followed the recipe to a T. They were super easy to open. (though my food processor was at my place. Had to use the blender and it did puree. Not to worry...still fantastic) We both decided it was a $50+ meal in some fancy restaurant. He says he will catch a lot more next time. we like the other reviewer's advice of freezing them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States