Oysters Rockefeller from USA Weekend Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My husband and I love Oysters Rockerfeller, so I was so excited to find this recipe. Very simple to prepare, I did make a couple of modifications after reading the other reviews. I added hot sauce to the spinach mixture and also 2 heaping teaspoons of horseradish. I also combined parmesan cheese and grated romano cheese and sprinkled on top, along with more hot sauce. We love Tabasco sauce on our oysters. The horsradish was a must! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was a very easy recipe. However I feel if I had added onion with the garlic it would have given it more of a punch. I felt something was missing I think it was the onions. Also I use fresh spinach and sautee the spinach a little longer it was very good. Will do it again only with onions the next time...Dohna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOHNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this as a sidedish last night for my husband... It's impossible to get fresh oysters here this time of year so I used canned oysters and it was great!! I did add horseradish and texas pete to the spinach mixture and it was amazing!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I thought this was very good, and gave it five stars because its great taste was produced with such ease of preparation. I use a potato ricer for squeezing my spinach. This would make six servings (as the recipe states) for use as an appetizer, but if using it for a main dish, plan on it serving two or maybe three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Great with farfalle pasta. Needs a little more hot sauce than a dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great base recipe. But, with some modifications it's now a family favorite. I added a whole minced shallot, hot sauce and a tablespoon of horseradish sauce to the spinach (a bag of fresh spinach wilted it down). Additionally, I mixed asiago cheese, 4 slices of bacon, diced, and old bay into the parmesan cheese. Once I did this the dish was outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
the original recipe doesn't contain garlic You can't taste the oysters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Folks this is an easy excellent oyster rockefeller recipe. I added crumbled bacon on top of oyster before adding cheese. I would give more than 5 stars if allowed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The modifications I made was to eliminate the hot sauce and add a dash of ouzo. If you don't have ouzo, anise would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States