Oysters Rockefeller from USA Weekend Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My husband and I love Oysters Rockerfeller, so I was so excited to find this recipe. Very simple to prepare, I did make a couple of modifications after reading the other reviews. I added hot sauce to the spinach mixture and also 2 heaping teaspoons of horseradish. I also combined parmesan cheese and grated romano cheese and sprinkled on top, along with more hot sauce. We love Tabasco sauce on our oysters. The horsradish was a must! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was a very easy recipe. However I feel if I had added onion with the garlic it would have given it more of a punch. I felt something was missing I think it was the onions. Also I use fresh spinach and sautee the spinach a little longer it was very good. Will do it again only with onions the next time...Dohna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOHNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this as a sidedish last night for my husband... It's impossible to get fresh oysters here this time of year so I used canned oysters and it was great!! I did add horseradish and texas pete to the spinach mixture and it was amazing!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I thought this was very good, and gave it five stars because its great taste was produced with such ease of preparation. I use a potato ricer for squeezing my spinach. This would make six servings (as the recipe states) for use as an appetizer, but if using it for a main dish, plan on it serving two or maybe three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Great with farfalle pasta. Needs a little more hot sauce than a dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great base recipe. But, with some modifications it's now a family favorite. I added a whole minced shallot, hot sauce and a tablespoon of horseradish sauce to the spinach (a bag of fresh spinach wilted it down). Additionally, I mixed asiago cheese, 4 slices of bacon, diced, and old bay into the parmesan cheese. Once I did this the dish was outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
the original recipe doesn't contain garlic You can't taste the oysters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Folks this is an easy excellent oyster rockefeller recipe. I added crumbled bacon on top of oyster before adding cheese. I would give more than 5 stars if allowed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The modifications I made was to eliminate the hot sauce and add a dash of ouzo. If you don't have ouzo, anise would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States