Oyster and Spinach Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Rich and fantastic. Used leftover oysters from steaming a bushel the other night. Even without the oyster sauce, I chopped a couple of them up to add to the soup and it came out flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Really good. Added bacon and heavy cream for two cups of milk per a suggestion and also diced potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My husband loves oysters and he looooved this chowder. I am not such a huge oyster fan and this was very edible. Definitely get a lot of the oyster flavor in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved this! I did add A LOT more spices though, I'm a flavor junkie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Used half & half, 1# of fresh oysters, & pepper jack cheese instead. Also added a pinch of kosher salt & ground black pepper. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A good recipe base that needs some extra touches to bring it from blah to great. Next time, I'll try bacon,Old Bay or something--anything--to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very yummy! Added a little old bay to season it up a bit. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This chowder was delicious! I followed the recipe exact. My husband always compares any kind of oyster soup to his mother's dish, but he said I liked this just as much if not more! Thanks for sharing this recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Excellent. Don't be afraid to try it. It sounds crazy putting spinach with oyster stew but it was awesome. My husband grew up with fresh oyster stew and he is 65 now and loves the stuff. He had only had oyster stew with milk, butter and oysters. This is a really nice twist to oyster stew which he requests often. We always use fresh/frozen oysters, never canned with this. I shred my spinach leaves a little so you don't get such a big piece of spinach and we also like a tsp. of Old Bay in the chowder. We sometimes add salad shrimp in this which is really nice. It even reheats which is a plus as there are only two of us so we at least have a couple meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States