Oyster and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I've nevered liked oysters and I tried an oyster stuffing at someone's house once and liked it. And then I found this recipe and tried it and loved it. I would actually just use one can of oysters though. The jiffy brand sweet corn bread is the best to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made this for my husband for Thanksgiving dinner and he loved it. We have been together 18 years and he said that it is the best cornbread dressing that he has ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
OMG - This dressing was PERFECT ! ! ! ! ! I doubled it for a Thanksgiving Party of 23 and it was not enough - my family already requested it for Christmas Dinner. . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I have tried several cornbread recipes, but this one gave the BEST results! It was nice and flavorful, light and not so dense and heavy. I also added crumbled breakfast sausage and turkey giblets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I personally thought it Had a overwhelming oyster flavor. I served it for a family dinner and everyone loved it. Even my boyfriend the blunt critic when it comes to my cooking suggested I should take it to his Grandmothers Christmas Dinner (she makes a wonderful oyster dressing)this is the ultimate compliment, so I give it 5 Stars. It must be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
My husband wanted something a bit fancier and different for thanksgiving this year so after searching through the recipes we found this one. He made it and it was the most delicious stuffing I have ever had,the entire family agreed and wanted us to bring more for the christmas dinner. I would not change a thing it is perfect !! We are even going to make it through out the year. Thanks DEE DEE for such a wonderful recipe!!! It will be in my special recipe box in the kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKASOONER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
My family loves oysters and thought this would be a nice change from traditional stuffing, and it disappeared when served! I chose to add just a little more chicken broth rather than the oyster juice to cut down the strong oyster flavor, but still keep it moist. This will become a standard for holidays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I forgot to mention the chopped oysters and my husband ate thirds. The second time, I fried a bit of bacon, crumbled it into the cornbread, then sauteed instead of pure celery and onion, a mix of minced red onion, celery, red bell pepper, carrot, garlic, and scallions in the bacon fat. Added a pinch of nutmeg to the mix. Gosh, a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the best stuffing my family and I have had for Thanksgiving! I was a little hesitant to prepare it because of some reviews calling it too fishy but I am glad I went for it - it is perfect the way it is!We loved it and will make it every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving. At first I was apprehensive about putting this on the menu. I'm so glad I did! It was a huge hit with my guests...many of whom had never even heard of it. I used a 10 oz jar of oysters and it was wonderful. Thanks for a great addition to my holiday feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States