Oyster and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made this for my husband for Thanksgiving dinner and he loved it. We have been together 18 years and he said that it is the best cornbread dressing that he has ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I forgot to mention the chopped oysters and my husband ate thirds. The second time, I fried a bit of bacon, crumbled it into the cornbread, then sauteed instead of pure celery and onion, a mix of minced red onion, celery, red bell pepper, carrot, garlic, and scallions in the bacon fat. Added a pinch of nutmeg to the mix. Gosh, a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the best stuffing my family and I have had for Thanksgiving! I was a little hesitant to prepare it because of some reviews calling it too fishy but I am glad I went for it - it is perfect the way it is!We loved it and will make it every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jilly Bean
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used fresh oysters (16oz) and kept everything else mostly the same. I didn't have any sage. I used 2 Jiffy cornbread mixes and that was a little too sweet for me. Next time I will use a non-sweet cornbread. The recipe was wonderful! I did need to add a lot of salt after it was done but I am a salt addict. I like my dressing crunchy and extra done on top so after 45 minutes I turned on the broiler and broiled for about 5-7 minutes and it was yummy! I can't wait to make this for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I've nevered liked oysters and I tried an oyster stuffing at someone's house once and liked it. And then I found this recipe and tried it and loved it. I would actually just use one can of oysters though. The jiffy brand sweet corn bread is the best to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
My family loves oysters and thought this would be a nice change from traditional stuffing, and it disappeared when served! I chose to add just a little more chicken broth rather than the oyster juice to cut down the strong oyster flavor, but still keep it moist. This will become a standard for holidays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I have tried several cornbread recipes, but this one gave the BEST results! It was nice and flavorful, light and not so dense and heavy. I also added crumbled breakfast sausage and turkey giblets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Sub'd 1 jar fresh oysters, seared and chopped. Extra celery (6 stalks) and more like 1 and 1/2 finely chopped onions (sauteed slowly in butter til tender). Used fresh sage, finely chopped. Taste was superb - kids didn't even know they were having oysters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Just did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This dressing was very moist- great texture...however I think the seasonings were a little strong...next time I will not use so much poultry seasoning. THANKS SO MUCH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMK1801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States