Oyster and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have been making this for years, but friends don't let friends use canned oysters. I use fresh Louisiana oysters and some fine chopped liver and gizzard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My mom always made the holiday dressing, she recently passed away & I lost the only copy. This recipe is almost the exact one we have been eating for years. I sauté the onions & celery, add a few boiled eggs and cut pieces of turkey to the mix, other than that, perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this for thanksGiving, wow was this good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecent42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Loved this. I didn't use any oyster liquid and a little more broth and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jilly Bean
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used fresh oysters (16oz) and kept everything else mostly the same. I didn't have any sage. I used 2 Jiffy cornbread mixes and that was a little too sweet for me. Next time I will use a non-sweet cornbread. The recipe was wonderful! I did need to add a lot of salt after it was done but I am a salt addict. I like my dressing crunchy and extra done on top so after 45 minutes I turned on the broiler and broiled for about 5-7 minutes and it was yummy! I can't wait to make this for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Good recipe. Easily cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Sub'd 1 jar fresh oysters, seared and chopped. Extra celery (6 stalks) and more like 1 and 1/2 finely chopped onions (sauteed slowly in butter til tender). Used fresh sage, finely chopped. Taste was superb - kids didn't even know they were having oysters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe! Its so much easier than making you own cornbread. The taste was amazing and it was simple to make. I think there is a typo in step three when it says mix the onions and "parsely," i believe it is celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe has been in my family for years in fact for the longest time I didn't know there was any other types of dressing. I have been making it for my husband's family now for 16 years that we have been married and I am asked every year "You are making your oyster dressing right?" One suggestion, cook you cornbread a day or two ahead of time it makes it crumble much better. If you like a little sweetness try Jiffy cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Helena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My husband grew up on oyster cornbread dressing. I had never even heard of it!!! He became gluten intolerant and had not had this for years because of flour in cornbread mixes. Well I made a gluten free cornbread for this recipe and he was in heaven!!!! This recipe is wonderful. I didn't change anything except the cornbread being gluten free!! Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States