Oyster and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Because I live on the ocean in New England, I had friends that dropped off fresh oysters just prior to Thanksgiving - so I used those! I also forgot my corn bread mix so I just made my own -- Great recipe to augment, good and basic. It turned out fabulous! Thank you! By the way - it was my first time making oyster stuffing, something I thought I would abhor. I loved it! Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madsully

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I found this recipe about four years ago and love it. I don't really like oysters but about once a year and this is the best time. If your tired of the same old cornbread dressing or that stuff in the bag, I suggest you give this a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this last year and never rated it, so now I am before Thanksgiving this year. I made this wanting to do a "traditional" dressing. I thought it would be great with all the reviews. I followed it exactly because this was new territory for me. It was not good. Nobody liked it and this year my mom already double checked that I wasn't going to make this again. If you plan on doing this for the holidays the make it ahead of time to see if you like it. DO NOT test it on Thanksgiving day!!! I will go back to my more basic cornbread dressing. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is by far the best Oyster and Cornbread dressing! I made this twice for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was a big hit. The only thing that I suggest is that you go easy on the poultry and sage seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
A good recipe, the only reason I won't give it 5 stars is the taste of oysters was overpowering. I recommend less than the recipe calls for. Other than that, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
just finished making this dressing...love it i will be making it again for xmas!! thanks allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa West
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Use fresh oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I have made this the original way and it was good. The second time I made this it was a much bigger hit. I hydrated dried minced onions and added 1/4 cup dry parsley and 1/2 cup celery into a saute pan with the butter and added it. I tossed the oyster liquor from the pint and instead simmered the cut-up oysters with 4 TBSP butter for 5 or 6 minutes and added it to the mix. It turned out to be more flavorful and fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
OUTSTANDING !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have been making this for years, but friends don't let friends use canned oysters. I use fresh Louisiana oysters and some fine chopped liver and gizzard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States