Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very easy to fix and very tasty. I used fat free half-n-half, and it didn't miss a beat. Hmmm, hmmm, another way to make those delish Apalachicola oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is oysters in milk and not very good. I added a lot of cornstarch to try to thicken it up and it didn't work. Not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have always used my Mama's oyster stew recipe, BUT not anymore; in fact, I will be giving her this one. I made using a pint of 1/2 and 1/2, one can of evap. milk and one pint of heavy cream. This is the best oyster stew I have ever had anywhere and super easy to make! Thanks Buddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good recipe. We are an 'oyster stew' family, having it at least several times a month during the winter. Regarding this particular recipe: we like a smooth, milky broth, so after sauteing the celery and shallots, I whirled them around in the blender with a little of the milk. Also, because we eat so much oyster stew and think that much cream/half & half might blow us up like a piece of inflatable furniture, but still like the rich taste that plain milk doesn't give, we substitute canned evaporated milk for some or all of the cream/half & half. And when we serve it, we also put a selection of seasonings on the table so that folks can dust a little onto their soup, if they wish. Most popular are curry powder, cajun seasoning (Prudhomme or Emeril), smoked Spanish paprika, or my personal favorite, Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. And one last caveat. For those unaccustomed to using fresh oysters in a tub or jar, you're well-advised to first lift the oysters out of the liquid and set them aside. Then drain the liquid slowly, disturbing it as little as possible, and leaving a small amount in the bottom of the tub. There are ALWAYS small bits of sand or shell in there, and biting down on a piece of shell is no fun. In fact, my last tub actually had a pearl in it. Charming, but not worth a tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for myself on Halloween night because if was a family tradition growing up - wouldn't fill you up too much but would keep you warm. My husband doesn't like oysters, so I had to all to myself. What a treat!!! I microphaned the shallots and celery right into the stew. Brought back memories and was even better than my mother's. It will be my very own comfort food from now on. 5+ stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizjohn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
didn't care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My father used to make this for me when I was a child. I haven't had it in 28 years and it is perfect! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I didn't eat it, but everyone that does can't seem to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is the best oyster stew recipe I have ever found. Added a bit of red pepper for a touch of warmth. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Oyster stew has been a family tradition in our family now for many years. My father made it for us kids every Christmastime usually on Christmas Eve. This receipe is a great variation and I tried it this year myself - unable to go "home" for the holidays, so I made oyster stew myself for the first time using this receipe, and it turned out great!!!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States