Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Delicious stew, so many good flavors! Oysters were fresh from the Apalachicola Bay in Florida Was a little chunky from the cream... would definitely make this again and again Served with warm loaf of bread and an ice cold beer! MMMMM mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I am personally not a fan of shellfish, and I have never eaten oyster stew. My husband loves it, though. During this recent cold snap, my hubby remarked that it was a shame I didn't like oysters because he would surely enjoy a bowl of oyster stew right about then. So I did an online search of oyster stew recipes and settled on yours because it seemed relatively easy to make, and the vast majority of the reviews were favorable. I followed the recipe as best I could: I used finely chopped red onion with garlic powder sprinkled over it in place of the shallots, and canned oysters. Even so, once I was finished and had my hubby"taste test" it to fine-tune the seasoning, he was blown away. And after 2 bowls of the stew, he told me that it was the best oyster stew he'd ever had! I tried it and I'm still not a fan, but I will not mind making this for him at all.....THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy1208

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Being from Maryland, I consider myself to be an expert to some degree on seafood that is served locally in that area, and this is very good. This makes an excellent addition to meals you can have for lunch or dinner if you are on the "I Love My Dixon Diet" by Sharon Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe. I diced one russet potatoe, which I simmered in water for about 3 minutes before cooking it in the celery, shallot and butter mix. The other things I added were a few bay leaves, pinch of parsley, and a splash of fresh lemon juice. It was wonderful! I loved this recipe - thank you. When I cook this again, I think I will add maybe 1/4 cup of dry white wine, and some other seafood like scallops and lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Excellent. I did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe. Easy . . . the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe, depending on whether we are wanting a very elegant dish or something hearty and homey I make this two ways. Following the recipe exactly gives you a beautiful, delicious and elegant soup. Or, if I want something with more substance as a main the I chop the celery more coursely, add half a chopped onion and a chopped potato. I garnish with chives. Either way, a really, really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very Elegant, Simple and Easy to prepare. Delicious in the end. The only moderation I made was to heat the Oysters in their liquid, first.....then SLOWLY add them to the rest of the mix before you heat it ALL up together. This dish is a Christmas Eve tradition in the South for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I am an Oyster Stew Connoisseur and can say without doubt that this the way to do Oyster Stew. When it comes to this type of stew, the simpler the better is key. I don't usually make mine with celery, but I do love the slight added crunch it offers, so now it's a staple. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Fantastic! I used Oysters caught the same morning and we had dinner in no time flat. Absolutely fabulous on a cold day. NOT for the dieters that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.T.Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States