Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Oyster stew for us is a family New Year's Eve tradition. Instead of our normal oysters in milk recipe I did this one. The only things I modified were that I doubled the number of oysters and I used a double boiler instead of a pot. The double boiler prevented any scorching. The shallots are a nice change from the more over powering onions I normally use. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soonergirl323
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent! I doubled the recipe. Kids from 12 to 52 enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonergirl323

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made it per the recipe, with the addition of the potatoes...it pretty much tasted like drinking half and half with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have been an oyster stew fan my whole life. Growing up, we always had oyster stew for Christmas breakfast. That's a tradition I've continued with my own five. Needless to say, it would take a lot for me to give up the recipe I grew up with. I totally ditched it and THIS has been our family recipe for two years now. My oldest asks for it at least once a month. Thanks, Buddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Buddy, this is the *exact* recipe I grew up with! Celery (with leaves,) minced onions/shallots, butter, milk/cream, salt and pepper! Perfect way to focus on the wonderful oyster flavor! No need to sautee in a different pan, just do your veggies in the same pot you're going to use for the stew! I suppose that for those who have never had this before, "stew" denotes a thicker texture...so this is more of an oyster soup. No matter what you call it, it is delicious, and brings back many childhood memories! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
good soup that i would make again good with hot sauce added to bowl. solid 4 stars from both of us. maybe even 4.5 stars with the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
delish! had an oyster roast last night and had some leftover oysters. what a great use of them. easy! i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very bland, thin broth. Needed to be a little thicker. No one liked this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
First try at Oyster Stew. Very simple and very delicious. I used medium oysters and they were just fine. Might try small oysters next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garth and Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
For the first year, my kids actually ate the oyster stew and enjoyed it! It was always the plain milk broth that bothered them, and this provided the solution. Much thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States