Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
It's all good when it comes to oysters. Try it with smoked oysters instead of the fresh MMMMM TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornell, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laton, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This recipe is awesome . I make it all the time. My husband and I love it, we dont change a thing thanks alot Peggy r
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I appreciate the suggestion of minced potato - but just recently had potato soup - instead added 1/2 cup finely chopped carrot - love garlic so added just one finely minced clove - awesome stew - a simple salad - a glass of pinot grigio and freshly baked bread - makes a Friday night dinner in lent heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I give this 5 stars for simplicity and flavor. My tip is using the same pot to saute' the shallots and celery, then adding the liquids and oysters. I was able to prepare the soup with all ingredients, except the oysters, and let stay warm, while entertaining our guests. Then, just before serving, I added the oysters, heated to cook and then served hot. Pretty convenient for a small dinner party and to not be at the stove the whole time. Our guests love the stew. I served a small baby greens salad with vinigarette and a clump of fresh crab on top. Great seafood combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELAINE92
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Best oyster stew I have ever had and made! The only thing I changed was that instead of a quart of half & half, I used 2 cups half & half and2 cups of heavy whipping cream. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELAINE92

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe. Changed hubby's bad memory of Oyster Stew - hot milk,butter, and oysters. He loved it. I did add 1 cubed potato and sauteed it w/ celery for about 15 minutes, then added the shallots. Added 2Tbs flour to pan. I could only find 8oz cans, so used 4. Made dinner rolls to dunk w/. VERY FILLING!! And YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Quite honestly I was looking for a recipe that stacked up against my mother's in my memory. This one did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
So good. I added a minced potato which really helped to make this even more hearty. The only change I will make next time is to start the celery earlier, and dice the potato instead of mincing it (slightly bigger chunks I think would compliment the oysters better). I used medium oysters and cut them in thirds to make them more spoon friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
As of today, this oyster stew has replaced our traditional oyster stew. It was so good! Thank you for the recipe. I minced the shallots and celery, didn't add salt, pepper, or cayenne. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States