Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Oyster stew has been a family tradition in our family now for many years. My father made it for us kids every Christmastime usually on Christmas Eve. This receipe is a great variation and I tried it this year myself - unable to go "home" for the holidays, so I made oyster stew myself for the first time using this receipe, and it turned out great!!!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was rated the best oyster stew they've ever eaten in top-notch restaurants or anywhere by my family. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Really good!! Lots of oysters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhodes, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This has become my family's new recipe for the traditional Christmas Eve Oyster Stew. We have even made new converts with the new members of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
It's all good when it comes to oysters. Try it with smoked oysters instead of the fresh MMMMM TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornell, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laton, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This recipe is awesome . I make it all the time. My husband and I love it, we dont change a thing thanks alot Peggy r
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I appreciate the suggestion of minced potato - but just recently had potato soup - instead added 1/2 cup finely chopped carrot - love garlic so added just one finely minced clove - awesome stew - a simple salad - a glass of pinot grigio and freshly baked bread - makes a Friday night dinner in lent heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I give this 5 stars for simplicity and flavor. My tip is using the same pot to saute' the shallots and celery, then adding the liquids and oysters. I was able to prepare the soup with all ingredients, except the oysters, and let stay warm, while entertaining our guests. Then, just before serving, I added the oysters, heated to cook and then served hot. Pretty convenient for a small dinner party and to not be at the stove the whole time. Our guests love the stew. I served a small baby greens salad with vinigarette and a clump of fresh crab on top. Great seafood combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine Ann Foglio
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Best oyster stew I have ever had and made! The only thing I changed was that instead of a quart of half & half, I used 2 cups half & half and2 cups of heavy whipping cream. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Ann Foglio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States