Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made this with canned oysters and a few tweaks to the recipe. I used 4 T. butter and it was delicious, though next time I'll cut back a little more on the butter (trying to lose a few pounds lol). I diced about 1/4 c. onion and cooked it in the butter til tender. Stirred in 1 T Old Bay and cooked some more. Drained the oysters and added them to the pan with the onion. I chopped the oysters up finely with a spoon as they heated in the pan. Then stirred in 1 t. parsley (this helps disguise the green stuff in the canned oysters, lol). I stirred in whole milk - didn't really measure, but about 3 c. Heated almost to boiling, then turned down, added salt and pepper to taste, and a dash of hot sauce. Stir well and spoon into bowl. Honestly, this tasted just as good or better than the oyster stew I got from a local restaurant known for their fresh seafood. It looked beautiful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Our other son is a commercial fisherman on the NC coast and he brought us a bushel of oysters when he came home. Needless to say, shucking took some time...but I made this stew out of them. Yes, I made alot of stew. My husband said it tasted like his grandmothers stew. We are very impressed. I had to modify the recipe to accommodate the abundance of oysters by adding more milk. And had to add yellow potatoes due to our Irish side and the necessity for potatoes at every meal,Hahaha!! But in the end the result was still amazing!!! Thank You!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Delicious! This was my first time cooking with oysters but I had a sack of them to use so decided to try a few recipes. The hardest part was the shucking but once I put the ingredients together, this recipe worked so well. The subtle flavors all tied together in the creaminess of the liquid and created such a delicately flavored bowl of goodness. Thanks for sharing this one. I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I used some ideas from this recipe and used comments from some users on another oyster stew recipe on this site. I added carrots, celery, potatoes, onions. I thickened it with a little potato flour. I added some hot pepper flakes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trinka G
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
EXCELLENT recipe just the way it is written (I made it with the microplaned potato). The family LOVED it so it is going into the recipe book as "Christmas Eve Oyster Stew". The only thing I did differently was to add ground chipotle pepper rather than the cayenne. This gave the soup the same kick as cayenne but also a subtle smoky flavor. It had a nice texture - oyster stew isn't thick - if you think it is, you are thinking New England chowder. It was buttery, warm, and absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wascoopy
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I used 3 containers of raw oysters. it's a very simple recipe. quick, simple, and easy after being at work all day and needing to fix meal for teens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wascoopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metropolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Not overly impressed. I made the recipe exactly as it is supposed to be except that I halved everything because I didn't have enough oysters (19 oysters gave me about 12 oz). It's certainly not a stew or a chowder. It's very liquidy - pretty much the consistency of straight half and half. If you like straight butter and half and half, then you will probably like this. Maybe if I used half cream and half broth it would be better. My boyfriend is an oyster fisherman, and so I get free oysters on a weekly basis - If this were not the case, I would be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
My first time cooking with oysters. You guys rock and the video was so cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I'm a weight-watching, cardiac patient, so I substituted plain yoghurt for the cream. Otherwise, I made it exactly per your recipe and my wife and I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Oyster stew for us is a family New Year's Eve tradition. Instead of our normal oysters in milk recipe I did this one. The only things I modified were that I doubled the number of oysters and I used a double boiler instead of a pot. The double boiler prevented any scorching. The shallots are a nice change from the more over powering onions I normally use. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States