Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Fantastic! And super easy! Tasted like I worked on it for days! I did add a diced up potato. Man I can't tell you how great this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I am not a big fan of Oyster Stew but my husband loved it! I made a few changes. I browned some bacon, then added the veggies with the butter including potatos. I used tabasco instead of cayenne. Fresh oysters are a must! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I grew up eating my grandparents Oyster Stew and loved it and have made it before but wanted to find a recipe with more substance, so tried this. WORD TO THE WISE, do not use FAT FREE 1/2 and 1/2 I got it by accident and it had a weird sweet taste that almost ruined the stew, I had to over salt & pepper it to cover that weird sweet taste. I too grated the celery, onion, and potatoe and the results were great, my husband who hates celery didn't even notice it!! Great recipe just get the correct ingredients ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
YUM and very easy! Served with good french bread and a big salad. My husband would eat this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have never been a big oyster stew fan but my husband is.So i made this for him and it was absolutely awesome.I ate almost as much he did.Will definitely make again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this just for one serving, and it was delicious! Instead of shallots, I used garlic and onion, and used skim milk instead of cream (I don't like extremely rich flavors, so just the oyster by itself in the stew was enough for me!) Finally, I also added some oregano at the end for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I took viewers advice and added one diced potato and a stalk of celery also added a dash of cayenne. DELISHHH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Excellent basic recipe. The fresher and tastier the oysters, the better the stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Feeser Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very good. I didn't completely follow the exact recipe because i was just making a small pot for myself; it came out fantastic! Also threw in a little bit of Heavy Cream (just because i had it on me) and a splash of Adobo spices. Plus, I did use canned oysters. Fresh aren't that easy to get here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I fixed this for our men's ministry dinner. Without fail, all the guys LOVED this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States