Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this just for one serving, and it was delicious! Instead of shallots, I used garlic and onion, and used skim milk instead of cream (I don't like extremely rich flavors, so just the oyster by itself in the stew was enough for me!) Finally, I also added some oregano at the end for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I took viewers advice and added one diced potato and a stalk of celery also added a dash of cayenne. DELISHHH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Excellent basic recipe. The fresher and tastier the oysters, the better the stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTH345

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very good. I didn't completely follow the exact recipe because i was just making a small pot for myself; it came out fantastic! Also threw in a little bit of Heavy Cream (just because i had it on me) and a splash of Adobo spices. Plus, I did use canned oysters. Fresh aren't that easy to get here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I fixed this for our men's ministry dinner. Without fail, all the guys LOVED this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This really tasted like hot buttered milk. I will continue to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very easy to fix and very tasty. I used fat free half-n-half, and it didn't miss a beat. Hmmm, hmmm, another way to make those delish Apalachicola oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is oysters in milk and not very good. I added a lot of cornstarch to try to thicken it up and it didn't work. Not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have always used my Mama's oyster stew recipe, BUT not anymore; in fact, I will be giving her this one. I made using a pint of 1/2 and 1/2, one can of evap. milk and one pint of heavy cream. This is the best oyster stew I have ever had anywhere and super easy to make! Thanks Buddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good recipe. We are an 'oyster stew' family, having it at least several times a month during the winter. Regarding this particular recipe: we like a smooth, milky broth, so after sauteing the celery and shallots, I whirled them around in the blender with a little of the milk. Also, because we eat so much oyster stew and think that much cream/half & half might blow us up like a piece of inflatable furniture, but still like the rich taste that plain milk doesn't give, we substitute canned evaporated milk for some or all of the cream/half & half. And when we serve it, we also put a selection of seasonings on the table so that folks can dust a little onto their soup, if they wish. Most popular are curry powder, cajun seasoning (Prudhomme or Emeril), smoked Spanish paprika, or my personal favorite, Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. And one last caveat. For those unaccustomed to using fresh oysters in a tub or jar, you're well-advised to first lift the oysters out of the liquid and set them aside. Then drain the liquid slowly, disturbing it as little as possible, and leaving a small amount in the bottom of the tub. There are ALWAYS small bits of sand or shell in there, and biting down on a piece of shell is no fun. In fact, my last tub actually had a pearl in it. Charming, but not worth a tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States