Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have been making this for a while and I love it and so does everyone who has eaten it. A friend who grew up on Hooper Island, Eastern shore of Md. say it is the best. Can't get a better complament than that. I do add carrot chopped really fine and I use canned milk since that was what I had. I use it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Not a lot of flavor. i added diced potatoes as well and thought the half and half was a little too rich tasting to me so next time i will use milk like before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Lynn Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My kids wouldn't eat it. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was super, I loved the addition of the potato. Thanks so much for sharing. mjperlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious. I added a tablespoon of Sirachi sauce to my bowl prior to adding the stew for an extra kick. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very tasty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good base. A couple of changes I made was to add 1/4 tsp. baking soda dissolved in 1 tsp. water to prevent separation of butter and cream. Also added 1/2 C. cream sherry a bay leaf and a pinch or two of thyme. Going to let it sit for while, but a taste hints at awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Buddy, Buddy, Buddy!!! I have been using your recipe for several years now, and I don't know why I haven't reviewed it sooner. Making Oyster Stew for Christmas Eve has been a tradition in my family for generations. Unfortunately I am the only one keeping it alive. If more people tried my version of your recipe I could bring the tradition back I am sure! I do tweak your recipe just a bit, but I think you would approve. I amp up the calorie count by going whole hog, or is it cow, with heavy cream, instead of half-and-half. It's Christmas, so what the hay. I also add a dash or three of worcestershire sauce and just before I take it off the heat I stir in a shot or two of good sherry. My godmother taught me that and it adds a nice touch to the stew that I have grown fond of. We like to butter rounds of Norwegian Lefse and dip that into the stew, the butter melts into the stew and adds even more richness. I love it, I love it, I love it!! Thank you for bringing your wonderful recipe into my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
***** This is GREAT and will be served at my Hilton Head Island Villa during the week between Christmas and New Year. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States