Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious. I added a tablespoon of Sirachi sauce to my bowl prior to adding the stew for an extra kick. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very tasty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good base. A couple of changes I made was to add 1/4 tsp. baking soda dissolved in 1 tsp. water to prevent separation of butter and cream. Also added 1/2 C. cream sherry a bay leaf and a pinch or two of thyme. Going to let it sit for while, but a taste hints at awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Buddy, Buddy, Buddy!!! I have been using your recipe for several years now, and I don't know why I haven't reviewed it sooner. Making Oyster Stew for Christmas Eve has been a tradition in my family for generations. Unfortunately I am the only one keeping it alive. If more people tried my version of your recipe I could bring the tradition back I am sure! I do tweak your recipe just a bit, but I think you would approve. I amp up the calorie count by going whole hog, or is it cow, with heavy cream, instead of half-and-half. It's Christmas, so what the hay. I also add a dash or three of worcestershire sauce and just before I take it off the heat I stir in a shot or two of good sherry. My godmother taught me that and it adds a nice touch to the stew that I have grown fond of. We like to butter rounds of Norwegian Lefse and dip that into the stew, the butter melts into the stew and adds even more richness. I love it, I love it, I love it!! Thank you for bringing your wonderful recipe into my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
***** This is GREAT and will be served at my Hilton Head Island Villa during the week between Christmas and New Year. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used this stew as a basis for our traditional Christmas Eve supper, and it was very good. I did make modifications based on our preferences and oyster availability. Here in the upper Midwest they cost a small fortune! So I used one pint of fresh oysters and one can of oysters. I also added 1/4 tsp. of celery salt and 1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce based on my dad's recipe that I usually use, and used 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used 1 pint of half and half and 1 pint of 2% milk and cut the butter to 1/4 cup since all half and half is a little rich for some family members who are sensitive to very rich foods. Even though I ended up changing up quite a few of the ingredients, it was a great change up of our traditional favorite. Since everyone thought it was even better than how I've made it in the past, I will make it like this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My dad usually always has to "add" something extra to suit his taste, but with this he didn't touch anything. I did add potatoes and just a splash of worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I can't say this is the best oyster stew I've had. Not a lot of favour..for my personal taste, you would have to add quite a bit of spices to suit. Definitely not a stew - more like a soup. My half and half cream curdled in this receipe so either I did something wrong or else this is something the chef/cook needs to be aware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States