Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is a delicious stew, however the fat content is so high. I substituted a low fat evaporated milk instead of cream and used 1/4 cup butter instead and it still held its rich and creamy taste. I really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Wonderful! And so simple to make. Followed the recipe except I added bacon, small cubed potatoes and sautéed them with the shallots and celery! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Being a Marylander, I tend to prefer the traditional Oyster Stew that I grew up on, with some oyster crackers on top. Yours was tasty, however, to me it's more like a clam chowder with an oyster substitute. Oyster Chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I added a couple of cloves of garlic, then finished with a splash of dry sherry. Perfectamundo! Well-received by even self-proclaimed "haters" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
very simple and tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Along with small slices of potato, I also added 2 fresh minced slices of bacon. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apalachicola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
OH MY this was great I was ask to make oyster stew for a friend. I had never made oyster stew I had eaten it with my dad years ago but never made it so I tried this recipe I didn't use regular celery I used celery salt and onion flakes I fried them in the butter .but did everything else as listed it was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! will use this again and again thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Good base recipe...I ended up having to add more than just salt, pepper, and cayenne to it...I put some lemon pepper seasoning and garlic powder which gave it a really good flavor..I'm not a huge oyster fan but this really good...We had fresh picked Hood Canal Oysters...Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'd make it a 5 but too much celery in this recipe, cut to 1/2 cup, add a small glove of fresh garlic. IT WAS GREAT!!! Fed 2 adults and one child. Nothing left, peferct~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very good recipe! Love it! I used canned oysters it was still awesome. If you're going to alter the recipe and make it YOUR way don't bother leaving a review because you are not reviewing the authors recipe you're reviewing YOUR VERSION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikethechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States