Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by wascoopy
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I used 3 containers of raw oysters. it's a very simple recipe. quick, simple, and easy after being at work all day and needing to fix meal for teens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wascoopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metropolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Not overly impressed. I made the recipe exactly as it is supposed to be except that I halved everything because I didn't have enough oysters (19 oysters gave me about 12 oz). It's certainly not a stew or a chowder. It's very liquidy - pretty much the consistency of straight half and half. If you like straight butter and half and half, then you will probably like this. Maybe if I used half cream and half broth it would be better. My boyfriend is an oyster fisherman, and so I get free oysters on a weekly basis - If this were not the case, I would be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
My first time cooking with oysters. You guys rock and the video was so cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I'm a weight-watching, cardiac patient, so I substituted plain yoghurt for the cream. Otherwise, I made it exactly per your recipe and my wife and I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Oyster stew for us is a family New Year's Eve tradition. Instead of our normal oysters in milk recipe I did this one. The only things I modified were that I doubled the number of oysters and I used a double boiler instead of a pot. The double boiler prevented any scorching. The shallots are a nice change from the more over powering onions I normally use. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soonergirl323
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent! I doubled the recipe. Kids from 12 to 52 enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonergirl323

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made it per the recipe, with the addition of the potatoes...it pretty much tasted like drinking half and half with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have been an oyster stew fan my whole life. Growing up, we always had oyster stew for Christmas breakfast. That's a tradition I've continued with my own five. Needless to say, it would take a lot for me to give up the recipe I grew up with. I totally ditched it and THIS has been our family recipe for two years now. My oldest asks for it at least once a month. Thanks, Buddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Buddy, this is the *exact* recipe I grew up with! Celery (with leaves,) minced onions/shallots, butter, milk/cream, salt and pepper! Perfect way to focus on the wonderful oyster flavor! No need to sautee in a different pan, just do your veggies in the same pot you're going to use for the stew! I suppose that for those who have never had this before, "stew" denotes a thicker texture...so this is more of an oyster soup. No matter what you call it, it is delicious, and brings back many childhood memories! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
good soup that i would make again good with hot sauce added to bowl. solid 4 stars from both of us. maybe even 4.5 stars with the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States