Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by soonergirl323
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent! I doubled the recipe. Kids from 12 to 52 enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonergirl323

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made it per the recipe, with the addition of the potatoes...it pretty much tasted like drinking half and half with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have been an oyster stew fan my whole life. Growing up, we always had oyster stew for Christmas breakfast. That's a tradition I've continued with my own five. Needless to say, it would take a lot for me to give up the recipe I grew up with. I totally ditched it and THIS has been our family recipe for two years now. My oldest asks for it at least once a month. Thanks, Buddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Buddy, this is the *exact* recipe I grew up with! Celery (with leaves,) minced onions/shallots, butter, milk/cream, salt and pepper! Perfect way to focus on the wonderful oyster flavor! No need to sautee in a different pan, just do your veggies in the same pot you're going to use for the stew! I suppose that for those who have never had this before, "stew" denotes a thicker texture...so this is more of an oyster soup. No matter what you call it, it is delicious, and brings back many childhood memories! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
good soup that i would make again good with hot sauce added to bowl. solid 4 stars from both of us. maybe even 4.5 stars with the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
delish! had an oyster roast last night and had some leftover oysters. what a great use of them. easy! i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very bland, thin broth. Needed to be a little thicker. No one liked this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
First try at Oyster Stew. Very simple and very delicious. I used medium oysters and they were just fine. Might try small oysters next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garth and Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
For the first year, my kids actually ate the oyster stew and enjoyed it! It was always the plain milk broth that bothered them, and this provided the solution. Much thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We had this tonight for our Christmas Eve dinner. It will be a yearly tradition for sure! I used my mini food processor to mince the celery and shallots down further after I had cooked them. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States