Oyster Stew for One or Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Missi K
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Simple & easy to make. Creamy, flavorful, quick. What more could you ask for? I didn't change a THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Superb recipe1 I use half n half in lieu of milk and heavy cream in lieu of half n half. I also add to Blondlady's recipe, one pinch of cayenne and 3 pinches of old bay and lace well with Sherry. I even add some of the Sherry to the stew too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Easy to make, it took no time at all, was thick and creamy and yummy in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was very easy and very tasty//perfect cool weather food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is my basic recipe, nothing more and nothing less, the way I make it for myself two times per year as a feel-good-food. My mama used to make it for me whenever I was sick in bed, so good with the memory. Perfect in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. Haven't had it in years. I ate the entire batch (over a few days mind you). It brought back some great memories of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Was super easy and oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chiefland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Wonderfully good and wonderfully easy. I'm the only one in my house that eats oyster so this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert H. Farling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My family loved this stew! Must admit I left out the milk used a qt of 1/2 &1/2 & used 2 containers of fresh oysters. And added a medium potato finely chopped and about a 1/4 of a small sweet onion to the celery mixture! I was really careful not to let this come to a boil as cream could curdle. This was a more expensive dinner than I usually make but when a girl wants oysters, then a girl gets oysters. also bought a $4 bouquet of flowers! It was a day to smile about! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States