Oyster Stew for One or Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Missi K
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Simple & easy to make. Creamy, flavorful, quick. What more could you ask for? I didn't change a THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Superb recipe1 I use half n half in lieu of milk and heavy cream in lieu of half n half. I also add to Blondlady's recipe, one pinch of cayenne and 3 pinches of old bay and lace well with Sherry. I even add some of the Sherry to the stew too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Easy to make, it took no time at all, was thick and creamy and yummy in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was very easy and very tasty//perfect cool weather food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is my basic recipe, nothing more and nothing less, the way I make it for myself two times per year as a feel-good-food. My mama used to make it for me whenever I was sick in bed, so good with the memory. Perfect in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. Haven't had it in years. I ate the entire batch (over a few days mind you). It brought back some great memories of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Was super easy and oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chiefland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Wonderfully good and wonderfully easy. I'm the only one in my house that eats oyster so this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert H. Farling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My family loved this stew! Must admit I left out the milk used a qt of 1/2 &1/2 & used 2 containers of fresh oysters. And added a medium potato finely chopped and about a 1/4 of a small sweet onion to the celery mixture! I was really careful not to let this come to a boil as cream could curdle. This was a more expensive dinner than I usually make but when a girl wants oysters, then a girl gets oysters. also bought a $4 bouquet of flowers! It was a day to smile about! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States