Oyster Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I have made this recipe for years and years, mostly at holiday time. Each time i make it it's wonderful> My mother made it and now that she is gone, it is my job to bring this to the holiday table. Never any leftovers!! Only thing different i do is dot with butter pats on top before baking and use only 1 can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
This is a great recipe. It has now become part of our family's Thanksgiving tradition. (we leave out the corn)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
Tastes like corn with a little oyster flavor. If I try it again, I'll cut the corn in half, add crackers and use a smaller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Excellent recipe! I cut the corn amount to one can, and this is the best oyster recipe I've seen....the corn makes the oysters seem a bit less overpowering. Thanks, Becky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This has been a family tradition in my wife's family for years. It is now mine too. I always make it and have varied it somewhat. Instead of saltines, use butter crackers (Ritz, Club, etc.). Also, whip the cream and fold into the other ingredients. I don't use the Worchestershire but may try it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
the corn took away from the oyster flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I tried this recipe so I could decide if I should make it for Thanksgiving. It was absolutely delicious. The creamed corn cuts the strong taste of the oysters, your family won't even know what it is until they try it. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
Easy to make and something really different. I think it would be good for a potluck as it makes a pretty big dish!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I had to change this based on what I had... and I cut the recipe in half once I realized I only had one can of oysters... I never have canned creamed corn, so I used a modified recipe off this site using frozen corn and cream cheese with a touch of butter. I layered that with the oysters and just crumbled enough butter crackers to make each layer. I kept the amounts of cream and worcestershire the same. Baked at 375. It was really good, and I'll make it again the way I did it. Thanks for sharing your recipe, and even tho I made changes, I think I stuck with the spirit of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Was a great mix between scalloped corn and scalloped oysters. Josh thought was a little sticky, but we both thought it was very good!!! Easy to make and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States