Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was super easy to make and totally tastes like the real deal! You can garnish with scallions, or shredded nori or even fish cake (kamaboko). I bought my hondashi from the Asian market in granule form. The jar lasts forever and you only need 1/2 tsp per cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karol Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I didn't have dashi stock, so I used chicken stock instead (it was all I had). Turned out really salty-flavored. Eggs were also a disturbing mush of grey color, but pretty sure that's unavoidable given you toss them into the mixture to cook. Husband liked it. I thought the chicken ended up tasting like fish somehow and was a bit weirded out by it. Usually love Japanese foods, so I'm assuming I did something wrong (aside from using the chicken stock).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Tastes great, but it's much too sweet and personally it was too much soup as it doesn't really reduce. I'd cut back to 1tbsp brown sugar, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1 cup dashi stock (used half a tbsp dashi powder for it), and it's perfect. I also pan fried the chicken pieces with some salt and white pepper for a bit more flavour. Top with some green onions and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Dawn
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Yum! I added some zucchini and had to use chicken stock and a little hoi sin instead of dashi. Super easy and turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very simple and authentic dish (aside from the type of rice, use Japanase short grain). Dahsi is pretty key to the flavor but if you can't find it chicken bouillon would do, chicken broth would be too light. It does run a bit sweet but still very good and will make again without modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is one of my Japanese favorites! Try throwing in some shiitake mushrooms for a little extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
it was easy to make and i was super surprised about how great it tasted. I did cut back on some of the ingrediants such as the fish powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
It's delicious. However, If you want to go for spectacular, I suggest you don't scramble the eggs. Instead when your dish is almost done add in 4 eggs unscrambled and let it cook or poach for two more minutes. Serve it over white rice and pop the yolk when you're going to eat it. The egg yolk added to the dashi makes it taste so good, so rich, and so slap ya mama good as carla hall would say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrigada, Barrigada, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
i thought i'd try this because it sounded good and we like Japanese food. I'm not Japanese and rarely attempt to the cook the food. But this came out delicious -and quickly became on of our favorites. i now make it every time I have leftover chicken and need something quick. It's sort of a Japanese comfort food and easy to make. Made it for guests one day and they raved over it. Once you purchase the ingredients for your pantry, this recipe is a whiz to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very easy to make and very tasty! Lovee this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States