Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is one of my Japanese favorites! Try throwing in some shiitake mushrooms for a little extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
it was easy to make and i was super surprised about how great it tasted. I did cut back on some of the ingrediants such as the fish powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
It's delicious. However, If you want to go for spectacular, I suggest you don't scramble the eggs. Instead when your dish is almost done add in 4 eggs unscrambled and let it cook or poach for two more minutes. Serve it over white rice and pop the yolk when you're going to eat it. The egg yolk added to the dashi makes it taste so good, so rich, and so slap ya mama good as carla hall would say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrigada, Barrigada, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
i thought i'd try this because it sounded good and we like Japanese food. I'm not Japanese and rarely attempt to the cook the food. But this came out delicious -and quickly became on of our favorites. i now make it every time I have leftover chicken and need something quick. It's sort of a Japanese comfort food and easy to make. Made it for guests one day and they raved over it. Once you purchase the ingredients for your pantry, this recipe is a whiz to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very easy to make and very tasty! Lovee this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
It was pretty close to what I ate all the time in Japan and since it was my favorite food then, it's still available to me as my favorite food now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by conspiracychef
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
1st let me say there are three ingredients that I do not eat as is: 1) tomatoes 2) mushroom 3) eggs, and it's the eggs that make this recipe so special to me. I made this dish tonight for my girlfriend who lived in Japan and told me this was one of her favorite dishes. I got thumbs up not only from her, I got thumbs up for the pic from her friends in Japan.....even our children ate it and this is not the norm! I made a few adjustments: I used 3 eggs instead of four I used 6 chicken thighs instead of four I made my own dashi stock using dried seaweed and bonito flakes (chicken stock just wont do). ...and I added snap pees for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was very quick and easy! I substituted Better Than Bouillon Vegetable Base for the Dashi Power (because I couldn't make it to the Asian market and it was not at the local grocery) and I also substituted Bragg's Liquid Amino for the soy sauce because it tastes the same and has MUCH less sodium. I look forward to making it again using the dashi powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Currently making this and it smells delicious! Didn't have chicken or dashi so substituted with paddlefish (hubby and I caught and froze 3 weeks ago) and chicken stock. Can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! Dashi is not expensive and totally makes this dish. Worth searching for. This recipe is a keeper, especially since my daughter can make it. When your kids cook for you, it tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States