Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I work at a Japanese restaurant, and with very little tweaking this recipe tasted exactly the same!! I used less onion than called for, and I used fresh shiitake mushrooms. I also cubed the chicken instead of cutting it into strips, just personal preference. Also, I substituted 1 Tbsp mirin for soy in the sauce, and I added a pat of butter to the sauce (a trick I learned from the cooks where I work) and it was delicious! Also needed to cover the pan while the eggs were cooking, so the sauce did not evaporate too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Having lived in Hawaii and Okinawa,Japan, I was thrilled to find this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. It seemed too easy to make but once made, was right on the mark in flavor and authenticity. My kids were thrilled to be able to get oyako at home once again. Super , super recipe! Mahalo Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Suggestion: You can replace the chicken breast with chicken katsu and make it a chicken katsu donburi!! I also added 3-4 tbls of mirin in it. And for a twist, replace the green onion with cilantro gives it a even more refreshing taste! Also instead of chicken broth, I used water and bonito powder for the broth. Regular white mushroom also works great in it if you don't have shitake in hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe....almost taste like it came from my favourite joint in Tokyo...you can substitute the chicken with beef and beef broth....and also use regular fresh mushrooms from the neighbourhood supermarket instead....eat it with a lot of Japanese chili powder..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was just as good as the dish that usually costs me $10 at my favorite Japanese place! I would recommend slicing the chicken into thin strips and marinating it in about 1 Tbs cornstarch, 1 Tbs soy sauce, and 1 Tbs sesame oil (all approximations...) at least 30 minutes prior to cooking. This adds flavor and makes the chicken more tender. Instead of simmering the egg, I tried cracking an egg over each bowl of hot rice like they do in the restaurants. But I think you need a special clay pot to make that work, because my egg never cooked and I ended up microwaving my bowl in fears of salmonella...yeah....not ideal. So follow the directions for simmering the egg in the recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Great recipe. I used 5 tbs of soy sauce, 3 tbs of Mirin, 1Tbs of sugar and 1/4 cups of water. One of my husband favorit dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This is fast, easy, AND delicious. I added about a tablespoon more soy sauce. It's the closest thing I've found to the oyako don served at local Japanese restaurants. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
AI!! Thank you so much for this amazing dish!! I can die happy now. By the way, it certainly tastes better when its Shitake mushrooms and Kikkoman soy sauce. The first time I made this dish I only had canned mushrooms (I don't even know what kind they were...) and La Choy soy sauce... I WILL NEVER DO THAT AGAIN!! Sacrilege, really...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
It was delicious! I used some straight noodles in the dish instead of serving on rice. I put in three large carrots and used the white parts of the green onion instead of the "half onion". I marinaded the chicken in soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, and drops of sesame oil and fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
AMAZING! I made this for an anime night at our house, and I got rave reviews. ^_^ My only change to the recipe were to add 1 TBSP mirin. It was so good! Domo arigato gozaimasu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States