Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Oishii! My Japanese boyfriend devoured this, making yummy noises throughout. Alterations: I halved the recipe, only used 2 eggs, and four shiitake mushrooms instead of three (we both love them) and thighs instead of breats, but only about 2/3 of what was called for, not big meat eaters. I ended up not having any fat to drain, but in bigger quantities I can see how this would be a problem. I had to use about 1/4 cup more chicken broth, and then another 1/4 cup water to give it an soupiness at all, which is what I was after. I will make this again, it is so easy! Oh, I also used 1/2 T of mirin in place of 1/2 T of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This does taste just like the Oyako Donburi at the Japanese restaurant. I could eat it everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I used salmon instead of chicken and it tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I halfed the recipe but I think it came out fine. I put a lot more vegetables that said was needed & I think they made it better. Tasted just like the ones in the restaraunts. I also used low sodium soy sauce & low sodium chicken broth b/c the dried mushrooms already add lots of salt to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very, very good. Made recipe exactly as written and adored it, as did my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is my favorite!! Everytime I make it everyone loves it! Plus it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was very good! I also decreased the eggs. I made it for 8 servings and used six eggs. I also added sliced button mushrooms. Thanks for a terrific and authentic tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I grew up with this food, but we didn't cook this dish at home so I was happy to find such a great recipe for it. We absolutely loved the flavors. I reduced the eggs from 5 to 3 (personal preference) and used boneless skinless thighs instead of the chicken breasts. The shitake mushrooms really make this dish. Thanks, Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
this was great! i was afraid it would be a bit too salty, based on the other reviews, but followed the receipe nonetheless. thought it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
really easy to cook and it tastes wonderful! My friend couldn't believe it when I told him the ingredients! would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States