Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is delicious. I made it for the first time last night with a few changes - added a dash of sesame oil, some toasted sesame seeds, and only used 4 eggs. Will definitely make this again. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Oh my goodness! So good! So easy! And cheap for the amount it makes! I'd suggest using less soy sauce your first time making it, as well as less egg. Vegetables are also good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
We have made many recipes from allrecipes and this is definitely one of the best so far. We had never had Oyako Donburi before however we will be having this again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I work at a Japanese restaurant, and with very little tweaking this recipe tasted exactly the same!! I used less onion than called for, and I used fresh shiitake mushrooms. I also cubed the chicken instead of cutting it into strips, just personal preference. Also, I substituted 1 Tbsp mirin for soy in the sauce, and I added a pat of butter to the sauce (a trick I learned from the cooks where I work) and it was delicious! Also needed to cover the pan while the eggs were cooking, so the sauce did not evaporate too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
So easy and quick, and a good way to use the huge bag of dried shiitake mushrooms from Costco :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I first had this at a restaurant here in Phoenix, and I was delighted to find it on Allrecipes! I change my recipe a bit, but only in that I use a whole bag of frozen stir-fry veggies, and add an egg or two. It feeds my whole family, and they LOVE it! Edited to add- I add a dash of sesame oil, and it gives a wonderful boost to the flavor of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
My husband, sister and I loved, loved, loved this dish. It's a perfect 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Suggestion: You can replace the chicken breast with chicken katsu and make it a chicken katsu donburi!! I also added 3-4 tbls of mirin in it. And for a twist, replace the green onion with cilantro gives it a even more refreshing taste! Also instead of chicken broth, I used water and bonito powder for the broth. Regular white mushroom also works great in it if you don't have shitake in hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Yummy! Tweaked the recipe a bit by decreasing mushrooms to 3 and eggs to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Delicious! The only change I made (that I wish I didn't have to) was I switched the shittake mushrooms for just plain old canned mushrooms, as I couldn't find the shittake in our local grocery. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States