Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My family thought this was great. I used fresh instead of dried shiitake mushrooms. I used 4 eggs because that was all I had. The directions should be rewritten to include more steps and to specify whether or not the pan is covered or uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I just made this recipe and loved it at first. My Mom said it was too salty. I thought the eggs were the only part of the dish that was too salty. Other than that, I love the recipe. I might omit the salt and maybe use low sodium chicken broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Tried it yesterday and it was a real hit! The kids loved it and so did everyone else. Only change....because the soy sauce I had on hand was saltier than most I only used 2 tbsp and substituted the other 2 tbsp with bonito soup base. I was amazed how fast it was to make it. Would definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is very good. I followed the recipe exactly. I have egg issues so I was skeptical, but this is really delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a favorite dish in our family. In addition to making it with the chicken, we also make it using a spicy ahi. Everyone loves that. It's easy to make, and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was just as good as the dish that usually costs me $10 at my favorite Japanese place! I would recommend slicing the chicken into thin strips and marinating it in about 1 Tbs cornstarch, 1 Tbs soy sauce, and 1 Tbs sesame oil (all approximations...) at least 30 minutes prior to cooking. This adds flavor and makes the chicken more tender. Instead of simmering the egg, I tried cracking an egg over each bowl of hot rice like they do in the restaurants. But I think you need a special clay pot to make that work, because my egg never cooked and I ended up microwaving my bowl in fears of salmonella...yeah....not ideal. So follow the directions for simmering the egg in the recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yum! This recipe is easy and delicious. I omit the 1/2 tp salt because it doesn't need it with all the soy sauce. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Maybe I didn't make this correct but I think it had too much egg, I'd lower the amount of egg by half and add more broth. The shiitake mushrooms were the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
While ours looked less than apptizing, it was good, I thought it was a bit sweet, everyone else thought it was salty. Our mushroom were tinned and had an odd texture, and I used corn instead of green onion. I definantly think my parents will allow it to be made again , specially since it isn't expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daelynna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Tastes good, but can't get past the soy sauce covered (brown) eggs. Leftovers are a no go on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States