Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved this dish. I added 4 tbs of white cooking wine and covered the eggs to cook it helped retain the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Wow! Super yummy! I'm from Hawaii and definitely restaurant quality. After reading the reviews, I added 1 tbsp mirin, 3 tbsp soy sauce, and a pat of butter. I marinated the chicken in 1 tsp cornstarch, soy sauce, and sesame oil for about 20 mins to help keep it moist and tasty. I also used 3 jumbo eggs and it was perfect. Next time, I will add 1-2 cups more chicken broth. Cover while the eggs are simmering! Great recipe, Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
YAY! Thank you for posting. I love Oyakodon and this turned out tasting just like I hoped it would! I used regular white mushrooms. : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Super delicious. Made some changes to it. Used about 5 tbsp soy sauce, 3 tbsp mirin, and one tbsp sugar as suggested by another reviewer. Also add bamboo shoots if i have. But this is what puts it over the top. Instead of chicken stock I make simple dashi using nobu's recipe - Konbu in pot of water, med heat, just before it boils take out konbu, remove from heat, and add bonito flakes. Drain. Then I soak dried shiitakes in warm water, then save the water and pour that (about a cup) into the pan as well. Sometimes it tends to evaporate so ill throw in a little chicken stock, or just cover it. My parents are vegetarian, so I'll make theirs with tofu and extra mushrooms - shiitake, regular, and enoki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I love Okyakodon so I was excited to make it at home for the first time. I omitted mushrooms and the carrot, since when I order it around here it doesn't have these ingredients. I also added 1 tbsp of mirin per other reviews. Everything turned out great and was delicious over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I was really surprised how well this came out. Tasted authentic. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
this tasted sooo good!!! I had to use sliced white button mushrooms instead but used a whole 12 ounce pack and it was great! can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
With no prior knowledge of what oyako donburi tastes like, I decided to make this recipe. I made it a couple of times and it tasted good enough. I finally had oyako donburi in Japantown in SF last month and it is spot on! I was pleasantly surprised. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnesante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great soup! Next time I'll probably use a whole can of chicken broth instead of just a cup thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States