Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This receipe was wonderful. I love oxtails that I had to buy at a local restaurant and so I tried it for the first time here at home and followed the instructions to the letter. I will be enjoying Oxtails with Gravy at home from now on! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Lithia Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This recipe was great. I'm just beginning to "really" cook, and this dish was exactly as I remembered it as a child. My family used to make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I had never tasted oxtails before and wanted to try something different. Maybe I should've trimmed the fat first because they were very fatty. The taste was okay, but tasted too "stewy". I browned the meat first and sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the water. Glad I can say I've had them, but probably won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Usually cook oxtails in a crock pot so next time I'll follow the recipe and slow cook on low for 6 hrs. Great mix of flavors and the gravy was awesome. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I was really nervouse when making this dish but it turned out perfectly. I didn't use the "greek seasonings" just Lawry's seasoned salt and pepper and it was fine. And oxtails are relatively fatty, so if you've never had them like one of the commenters below then don't be surprised. You can trim it down though. But that's where most of the flavor is in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Wonderful recipe! Make sure you double the gravy, there was a "fight" over the last ladle full left in the bowl (I won)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Let me say first that we really liked this recipe... it's good comfort food. But, I'm giving it only three stars for two reasons: 1) it didn't step up and knock my socks off...DH didn't rave and say "make this again soon!" but he said it was good. And 2) there is NO WAY this serves 6 people! There is not much meat on oxtails, it is mostly bone. I started with 2.21# and with the mashed potatoes and the gravy (which was good) it just served the two of us. I will admit that DH is a big eater, but I am NOT so we even out. If the amount listed was for two people, I would raise it to four stars, but for novice cooks who don't know, it's very misleading, hence one less star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
AWESOME! I also added a scotch bonnet pepper for some West Indian kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe that my husband and I enjoyed very much. I don't like using the grease or shortening in the gravy though, and I don't think it needs it. Next time I will just use the broth with the flour only to make a gravy, like in the smoothered porkchops recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love oxtails but never had them with gravy until now. I love this recipe and so does my friends. I will make this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyonecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States