Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This happens to be a very good recipe for good ol' oxtails. Oxtails are fatty (for those who don't know) and are traditionally cooked this way. It is best to boil them first, to get rid of some of the fat. They will still have fat on them. Add tomatoes if you like or whatever! Normally, it ends up "stew-like" because of the cooking time and gravy. The meat should fall off the bone when eaten. I would love to hear other variations as far as gravy or sauce. I myself can't help but eat oxtails swimming in gravy! If you are overly concerned about the fat...don't make it. Thanks! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is exactl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe is perfect. These came out just like my grandma from Louisiana used to make and my 7-year old LOVED them, too. He's really picky but he ate all of them up and I only got 3! I will be using this recipe again and again. THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
OMG what an unexpected treat!!! These were sooo good and rich! I used a greek seasoning recipe that CindyLepp gave me on the exchange and it was PERFECT for this recipe!!!! My DH wouldn't eat it because of what it was. They are a bit fatty but totally worth digging around the fat for the awesome meat that is hiding. I did cook mine for about 4 hours to get them tender but I'm sure that depends on the size. Thx a million for sharing this recipe! BTW, me and Granpa loved this one! He said its been 40 years since he had ox tails and never tasted any that compared to these. I took that as a compliment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was my first time cooking oxtails. I eat them, but never cook them. I didn't use Greek seasoning, just substituted and this recipe was good! Thankss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was very good.I did not use all the seasoning.But this was a hit with the family.Now I have more than one way to do my tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Nice recipe! A few tips...BEFORE adding garlic, onions and dry seasonings in step 1, bring the oxtails to a boil and skim off the gray scum that comes to the top, then add seasonings. This makes for a clearer, purer tasting broth. Also, if time permits, refrigerate broth overnight when the oxtails are cooked. The next day the layer of fat will have hardened and can be removed completely...so much healthier and and the flavors marry overnight for better taste. I also omitted the additional teaspoon of seasoning salt since my broth was just fine with the 1 tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I really didn't use the top portion of the recipe, but I can't knock it. I used the Gravy portion and received rave reviews from family and friends on New Year's Day as to how well the Oxtails came out. I loved the gravy and saved it when all the oxtails where gone and just had a great bowl of rice and gravy. This was a very pretty color gravy and thicken quite well. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. My husband really loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I am txnurse5 and I must admit that it does not feed 6. My recipe is written as an "observer". This recipe is strictly an observer recipe. I watched my mother, grandmother and aunt make this meal. It's all a matter of seasoning and tasting. That's how it's done in the south. Don't be afraid to experiment with different spices and techniques. I have grown up with this rule, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States