Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this just the way that it was written! When I tell you AWESOME! I MEAN AWESOME! My children ate it, everyone ate it and it was phenomenal! It's a must eat...and must try! The gravy was so good, I kept some and froze it for when I make homemade mashed potatoes in the future. I used yellow rice for this recipe, since we love yellow rice so much and it was a perfect twist for this recipe~ If you have never eaten OXTAILS, try this recipe! You are sure to fall in love~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was fabulous!! Great flavor and extremely tender. Only one suggestion - skim off fat before making gravy - as meal is a bit fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a terrific recipe...Thank you very much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yummy! I made this last night and it was amazing. I cooked the oxtails the night before and the only thing I did different was use onion powder and garlic powder instead of onioin and garlic. I cooked for 3 hours and the water reduced down a lot. I put the broth in the fridge so I could take the fat off the next day. The next day I warmed the oxtails in the oven on 275 for 30 min. I took the fat off the broth and warmed it in the microwave and I only had about 1/2 c of broth so I tasted it and it was really salty so I just added water to it to make a cup and used low sodium chicken broth for the other cup. Made gravy as recipe says and used worchester for browning sauce. When it was done I put the oxtails in the gravy and cooked on low for about 30 min. I give it only 4 stars bc the broth doesnt make 2 cups but thats ok bc it probably would have been too salty. Make sure you add broth slowly when you stir it in (about 1/4-1/2 c at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent Will make it again for some comfort eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I also changed the recipe a little, but the overall recipe gave good guidelines to follow.. And maybe we eat too much, but I scaled the servings to 18, and only fed 6 of us.. So I actually cooked about 7lbs.. that's 1lb of oxtail per person.. that is.. uncooked weight that is. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I'd like to share at tip from a Julia Child cookbook -- place oxtails in a baking pan, add 1 carrot, 1 rib celery and 1/2 onion with skins - all chopped coarsely. Place on rack in top third of oven preheated to 450 degrees. Bake for 40 minutes, turning and basting every 10 minutes. This eliminates the browning in oil and spatters. Drain and pour off fat, deglaze pan with water or red wine and proceed with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My husband loved oxtails. I had never had them. Followed your recipe and he was very pleased. It was easy and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Really, really good. I had never tasted oxtails before, and found this recipe easy to follow. The results were awesome in my book. Will definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Fabulous ! I have milked cows and the thought of eating a piece of cow tail was never on my list of things to do. But, I ran across a pound of tails marked down from $3.99 to $1.99 a pound so what he heck. I read some other reviews, some sounded right. Boil tails and skim the scum before adding the veggies and spice, let tails and broth settle overnight then pick off about 75% of the white fat cap. Also, two pounds of tails and this recipe would be a streth for 3 servings. The gravy makes this dish, I think it is more brown sauce than gravy. I WILL be back. Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States